National Tokens by country...

Check out all the souvenir coins in the country of your choice.

Below you can find an overview of the general coin specifications that apply to the collection in this country. Scroll down to discover the coins piece by piece, or use the ‘select a coin’ box to jump directly to any specific coin that you are looking for.

Germany

Germany
General coin specifications

Color Diameter Thickness Edge No. coins No. variations
gold
old gold
pale gold
shampagne
silver
sterling silver
3.00 mm
31.00 mm
34.00 mm
35.00 mm
2.00 mm
2.25 mm
2.35 mm
serrated, fine
serrated, fine with script
smooth
202 625

AACHEN

AACHEN - Aachener Dom

The Aachen Cathedral, frequently referred to as the "Imperial Cathedral" of Aachen, is the oldest cathedral in northern Europe. Charlemagne began the construction of the Palatine Chapel in 786. When he died in 814, he was buried in his own cathedral, and his bones are still preserved in a special shrine.
The cathedral obtained its present shape in the course of more than a millennium. The core of the Aachen cathedral is the Palatine Chapel; being surprisingly small in comparison to the later additions, at the time of its construction it was the largest dome north of the Alps. For 600 years, from 936 to 1531, the Aachen cathedral was the church of coronation for 30 kings of the Holy Roman Empire.

AACHEN

AACHEN

AACHEN - Siegel Karl der Großen

Charlemagne. For centuries his name has been legend. Carolus Magnus ("Charles the Great"), King of the Franks, Holy Roman Emperor, the subject of numerous epics and romances--he was even made a saint. As a figure of history he is larger than life.
Charles the Great was King of the Franks from 768 and Emperor of the Romans from 800 to his death in 814. He expanded the Frankish kingdom into an empire that incorporated much of Western and Central Europe. During his reign, he conquered Italy and was crowned Imperator Augustus by Pope Leo III on 25 December 800. His rule is also associated with the Carolingian Renaissance, a revival of art, religion, and culture through the medium of the Catholic Church. Through his foreign conquests and internal reforms, Charlemagne helped define both Western Europe and the Middle Ages. He is numbered as Charles I in the regal lists of Germany, the Holy Roman Empire, and France.
Today he is regarded not only as the founding father of both French and German monarchies, but also as a Pater Europae (father of Europe) his empire united most of Western Europe for the first time since the Romans, and the Carolingian renaissance encouraged the formation of a common European identity.

AACHEN

AMRUM

AMRUM - Amrum Nordseeinsel

Amrum is one of the North Frisian Islands on the German North Sea coast, south of Sylt and west of Föhr. It is part of the Nordfriesland district in the federal state of Schleswig-Holstein. With the island being a refuge for many endangered species of plants and animals, its soil being largely unfavourable for agriculture and as a popular seaside resort in general, Amrum's population almost exclusively lives from the tourism industry.

AMRUM

AMRUM

AMRUM - Amrumer Leuchtturm

The Amrum lighthouse is located in the southern part of the German island of Amrum, approximately 2 kilometres west of the village of Wittdün, yet still adhering to the municipality of Nebel. Its designation in German is Seefeuer Amrum. It is one of the island's landmarks, being open to the public during the summer season.

AMRUM

SACHSEN

Anna Constantia Grävin von Cosel

Anna Constantia von Brockdorff (17 October 1680 – 31 March 1765), later the Countess of Cosel, was a German noblewoman and mistress of Augustus the Strong, King of Poland and Elector of Saxony. Eventually he turned against her and exiled her to Saxony, where she died after 49 years of imprisonment.
Anna Constantia was born in Gut Depenau, today part of Stolpe, Holstein, the daughter of the Knight (Ritter) Joachim von Brockdorff and his wife Anna Margarethe, daughter of the rich Hamburg citizen Leonhard Marselis, owner of Gut Depenauborn.

SACHSEN

ANNWEILER

ANNWEILER - Burg Trifels

Burg Trifels (Trifels Castle) is a medieval castle at an elevation 500m near the small town of Annweiler, in the Palatinate, Germany. It is located on one peak of a three-way split red sandstone rock (the name Trifels means threefold rock), and it is one of the most popular tourist destinations in the area.
First mentioned in a document of 1081, it was a place of safekeeping for the Imperial Regalia of the Holy Roman Empire in the 12th and 13th century. The castle is most famous as the place where the English King Richard I of England (Richard the Lionheart) was imprisoned after his return from the crusades. The castle is characterized by a large well tower outside the ring wall, linked to the castle by a bridge.

ANNWEILER

ARNSTADT

ARNSTADT - Veste Wachsenburg

The Wachsenburg Fortress is one of the three legendary castles "Drei Gleichen". Gleichen is the name of two groups of castles in Germany, thus named from their resemblance to each other.
Mentioned for the first time in the 10th century the Fortress became it's today's appearance in the Renaissance period (16th century). It was built to protect the Arnstadt area.
After the year of 1710, the castle was constructed as a fortress. In the yard of the fortress, there is a well which is 100 meters deep.The castle is still inhabited and contains a collection of weapons and pictures belonging to its owner, the duke of-Saxe-Coburg-Gotha, whose family obtained possession of it in 1368.

ARNSTADT

BAD DÜRKHEIM

BAD DÜRKHEIM - Riesenfass

Bad Dürkheim is in the record books for the "Dürkheimer Fass" - the largest wine barrel in the world which could hold up to 1.700.000 litres. It was built in 1934 by Fritz Keller, a winemaker and cooper.
Two hundred 40 metres tall pines - about 200 m³ of wood - were used for building the barrel, which has a diameter of 13,5 m.
The barrel has never actually been filled with wine, inside it there is a rustic-style wine bar and restaurant. The interior is just as barrel-like as the outside, with skilfully carved oak barrel ends hanging on the walls illustrating the art of wine making. In summer you can sit outside in the wine garden in the shade of the giant cask.

BAD DÜRKHEIM

BAD ESSEN

BAD ESSEN - Blütenbert

Blütenbert is the mascot of the national garden show in Bad Essen 2010.
Stefanie Ludwig came up with the idea for the costume of this garden gnome. While Sigrid Schütte gave the gnome a name.
On the 12th of March 2009 the council of Bad Essen decided to apply for the national garden show, and signed the agreement a few weeks later at the 26th of March 2009.
In the beginning of April 2 architect teams were assigned to the project after a design contest for two main areas: ‘Kur- und Solepark’ and ‘Park von Schloss Ippenburg’.
The 2 teams - Carl Landscape Architecture and JKL Landscape Architects are responsible for the magnificent result.

BAD ESSEN

BAD FRANKENHAUSEN

BAD FRANKENHAUSEN - Kyffhäuser

The Kyffhäuser is a mountain located at the border of Thuringia. The mountain has significance in German traditional myth as the resting place of Holy Roman Emperor Friedrich Barbarossa, a charismatic leader who died in 1190 while on a crusade.
Located in the middle of the Kyffhäuser Mountains, there are ruins still to be seen for visitors of the 11th century residence Kyffhausen, one of the largest and strongest medieval fortress constructions in Germany. Especially impressive however is the imposing Kyffhäuser Memorial (1890-1896) with its equestrian statue of Emperor Wilhelm the First an the statue of Barbarossa hewed out of stone.
According to legend, Barbarossa is not in fact dead, but sleeps in a hidden chamber underneath the Kyffhäuser mountain, sitting at a stone table. As in the similar legend of King Arthur, Barbarossa supposedly awaits his country's hour of greatest need, when he will emerge once again from under the mountain.

BAD FRANKENHAUSEN

BAD HOMBURG

BAD HOMBURG - Antoninus Pius

Titus Aurelius Fulvus Boionius Arrius Antoninus, generally known in English as Antoninus Pius was Roman emperor from 138 to 161. He was the fourth of the Five Good Emperors and a member of the Aurelii. Almost certainly, he earned the name "Pius" because he compelled the Senate to deify his adoptive father Hadrian; the Historia Augusta, however, suggests that he may have earned the name by saving senators sentenced to death by Hadrian in his later years.

BAD HOMBURG

BAD HOMBURG

BAD HOMBURG - Römerkastell Saalburg

The Saalburg is a beautifully reconstructed Roman fort located on the Taunus ridge northwest of Bad Homburg. It is a Cohort Fort belonging to the Limes Germanicus (Latin for Germanic frontier), a remarkable line of frontier forts that divided the Roman Empire and the unsubdued Germanic tribes from the years 83 to 260.
At its height, the limes stretched from the North Sea outlet of the Rhine to near Regensburg on the Danube. The total length was 568 km and included at least 60 castles and 900 watchtowers.
In 2005, the remnants of the Upper Germanic & Rhaetian Limes, including Saalburg, were inscribed on the List of UNESCO World Heritage Sites as Frontiers of the Roman Empire.

BAD HOMBURG

BAD PYRMONT

BAD PYRMONT - Der Hyllige Born

Bad Pyrmont is a traditional Staatsbad also famed as a Fürstenbad or royal spa with many wells. This evolved from a therapeutic spa to a wellness oasis in the heart of Weserbergland.
All the relaxation and wellness facilities blend perfectly into the Mediterranean ambience of Bad Pyrmont, which is particularly noticeable in the town centre with its architecture and large green spaces. 
The most important place in Bad Pyrmont is the "Hyllige Born" - the Holy Fountain. People come from far away to drink the natural mineralwater from this fountain. It is said to be helpfull against many illnesses.
BAD PYRMONT

BAD PYRMONT

BAD PYRMONT - Palmengarten

Bad Pyrmont is a resort with more than 500-year history. There are about 50 towns in Germany with the "Bad" prefix. In Bad Pyrmont you can find about 20 mineral springs, this is the best resort in Lower Saxony. During the last century a lot of famous people have been here: King of England George I, King of Prussia Frederick II, Queen Louise of Prussia, Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz, Benjamin Franklin.
But not only the springs attract the tourists. In 2005, the central Kurpark (Resort Park) in Bad Pyrmont was chosen as the best park in Germany.
The park has a highlight - the palm garden. We don't know how difficult it is to keep the palm trees here, but it seems to be hard. In winter the trees are hidden in the greenhouse.
BAD PYRMONT

BADEN-WÜRTTEMBERG

BADEN-WÜRTTEMBERG - Festungsruine Hohentwiel

Spread across nine hectares, the largest fortress ruins in Germany offer one of the country’s most impressive vistas: from Hohentwiel, you can see across Lake Constance, over the gentle rolling hills of the Thurgau region to the majestic peaks of the Alps.
Hohentwiel is a large rocky outcrop, one of the many bizarre volcanic formations of the Hegau region. The steep crags, which jut out starkly from the surrounding landscape, presented ideal vantage points for fortresses and other structures. The first castle was built on Hohentwiel in 914.
Hohentwiel’s imposing ramparts and casemates, its fallen towers and defiant ruins, still evoke the military might of this once-invincible fortress. The surrounding volcanic crags are a now a nature reserve, offering a unique habitat to many rare species of flora and fauna. Today, more than 80,000 visitors a year come to admire this special place.
BADEN-WÜRTTEMBERG

BARSINGHAUSEN

BARSINGHAUSEN - Klosterstollen Barsinghausen

The Besucherbergwerk Klosterstollen Barsinghausen is a part of the Gemeindebergwerk im Bullerbachtal which was opened in 1847. The tunnel was started on 01-SEP-1856 and reached the coal seam at a length of 1,474m on 07-OCT-1869. One month later the first cart of coal was produced. The coal mining through this tunnel was stopped in 1921, but it was subsequently used for mine ventilation. Mining used then the four shafts of the Schachtanlage Klosterstollen. The mine was finally closed in 1957 because it was not profitable any more.
The Klosterstollen was filled with water for many years, but in 1974 another tunnel collapsed and the water flooded the industrial area around Schacht IV (shaft 4). It was necessary to fix this and install a new drainage for the abandoned mine, as a result the Klosterstollen is drained too. The process takes years, but in 1984 some mining enthusiasts discover that it might be possible to reopen the now dry tunnel. They start to plan a show mine. In 1986 the tunnel is opened and the development as a show mine starts. It is opened in 1999 after the mining authority officially gives the permission to run a show mine with a mine train.

BARSINGHAUSEN

BERCHTESGADEN

BERCHTESGADEN - Berchtesgaden panorama

Berchtesgaden is a municipality in the German Bavarian Alps. It is located in the south district of Berchtesgadener Land in Bavaria, near the border with Austria, some 30 km south of Salzburg and 180 km southeast of Munich. To the south of the city the Berchtesgaden National Park stretches along three parallel valleys.
Berchtesgaden is often associated with the Watzmann, at 2,713 m the third-highest mountain in Germany (after Zugspitze and Hochwanner), which is renowned in the rock climbing community for its Ostwand (East Face), and a deep glacial lake by the name of Königssee (5.2 km²). Another notable peak is the Kehlstein mountain (1,835 m) with its Kehlsteinhaus (Eagle's Nest), which offers spectacular views to its visitors.
BERCHTESGADEN

BERCHTESGADEN

BERCHTESGADEN - Kehlsteinhaus (Eagle's Nest)

The Kehlsteinhaus, also known as the Eagle's Nest, was an extension of the Obersalzberg complex built by the Nazis in the German Alps near Berchtesgaden.
It is situated on a ridge at the top of the Kehlstein mountain (1834 m), reached by a spectacular 6.5 km road that cost 30 million Reichsmark to build. The last 124 metres up to the Kehlsteinhaus are reached by an elevator bored straight down through the mountain and linked through a long granite tunnel below.
The Kehlsteinhaus was an official 50th birthday present for Adolf Hitler. Nicknamed Eagle's Nest by a French diplomat, it was meant to be a retreat for Hitler and a place for him to entertain visiting dignitaries.It has been suggested he only visited the Kehlsteinhaus around 10 times, and most times for no more than 30 minutes. Perhaps because of this lack of close association with Hitler, the property was saved from demolition at the end of the war.
Today the building is owned by a charitable trust, and serves as a restaurant. It is a popular tourist attraction, particularly for British,Canadians and Americans attracted by the historical significance of the "Eagle's Nest".

BERCHTESGADEN

BERCHTESGADEN

BERCHTESGADEN - Königssee

The Königssee is a lake located in the extreme southeast of the German State of Bavaria, near the German-Austrian Border, and is the deepest lake in Germany.
The lake was formed by glaciers during the last ice age. It is 7.7 kilometers long and about 1.7 kilometers across at its widest point. Except at its outlet, the Königsseer Ache at the village of Königssee, the lake is surrounded by steeply rising flanks of alpine mountains (2.000 m), including the famous Watzmann.
The lake is noted for its clear water and is advertised as the cleanest lake in Germany. For this reason, only electric driven boats, rowboats and pedal boats have been permitted on the lake since 1909. The lake and surrounding parklands are very popular with tourists and hikers.

BERCHTESGADEN

BERCHTESGADEN

BERCHTESGADEN - Köningliches Schloss

The Augustine Abbey of Canons founded in 1102 eventually became an independent church state within the German Empire and became a prince-provostry in 1559. Until it was secularized in 1803 the monastery remained the residence of the ruling lords of Berchtesgaden. The castle became the summer residence of the Bavarian royal family in 1810.
The castle complex is the result of centuries of construction, alterations and additions that continued until the end of the 1700s. Though it is still privately owned by the Bavarian royal family, the main rooms are open to the public on regularly-scheduled guided tours. The upper rose garden with Renaissance fountains allows for an unbelievable view of the mountains and the “Watzmann”.

BERCHTESGADEN

BERLIN

BERLIN - Berlin Wall/Berliner Mauer

The Berlin Wall (German: Berliner Mauer) was a barrier that divided Berlin from 1961 to 1989. Constructed by the German Democratic Republic (GDR, East Germany), starting on 13 August 1961, the wall completely cut off (by land) West Berlin from surrounding East Germany and from East Berlin until it was opened in November 1989. Its demolition officially began on 13 June 1990 and was completed in 1992.] The barrier included guard towers placed along large concrete walls, which circumscribed a wide area (later known as the "death strip") that contained anti-vehicle trenches, "fakir beds" and other defenses. The Eastern Bloc claimed that the wall was erected to protect its population from fascist elements conspiring to prevent the "will of the people" in building a socialist state in East Germany. In practice, the Wall served to prevent the massive emigration and defection that marked East Germany and the communist Eastern Bloc during the post-World War II period.
BERLIN

BERLIN

BERLIN - Berliner Dom

Berlin Cathedral is the colloquial name for the Evangelical Oberpfarr- und Domkirche  in Berlin, Germany. It is the parish church of the Evangelical congregation Gemeinde der Oberpfarr- und Domkirche zu Berlin, a member of the umbrella organization Evangelical Church of Berlin-Brandenburg-Silesian Upper Lusatia. Its present building is located on Museum Island in the Mitte borough.
The Supreme Parish and Collegiate Church in Berlin, ca. 1900.The Berlin Cathedral had never been a cathedral in the actual sense of that term since it has never been the seat of a bishop. The bishop of the Evangelical Church in Berlin-Brandenburg (under this name 1945-2003) is based in St. Mary's Church, Berlin, and Kaiser Wilhelm Memorial Church. St. Hedwig's Cathedral serves as seat of Berlin's Roman Catholic Metropolitan bishop.

BERLIN

BERLIN

BERLIN - Brandenburger Tor

The Brandenburg Gate is a triumphal arch, the symbol of Berlin. Located on the Pariser Platz, it is the only remaining one of the series of gates through which one entered Berlin. It constitutes the monumental termination of Unter den Linden, the renowned boulevard of linden trees which led directly to the royal residence. It was commissioned by Friedrich Wilhelm II as a sign of peace and built by Karl Gotthard Langhans from 1788 to 1791.
The Brandenburg Gate consists of twelve Greek Doric columns, six on each side. This allows for five roadways, although originally ordinary citizens were only allowed to use the outer two. Above the gate is the Quadriga, consisting of the goddess of peace, driving a four-horse chariot in triumph. The gate stands 26 meters high, 65,5 meters wide and 11 meters thick.

BERLIN

BERLIN

BERLIN - Checkpoint Charlie

Checkpoint Charlie, along with Glienicker Brücke (Glienicker Bridge) was the best known border-crossing of Cold War days. The sign, which became a symbol of the division of Cold War Berlin and read like a dire warning to those about to venture beyond the Wall – YOU ARE NOW LEAVING THE AMERICAN SECTOR – in English, Russian, French and German - stood here. It is today an iconic marker of territorial boundary and political division. Until the fall of the Berlin Wall on November 9, 1989, it signified the border between West and East, Capitalism and Communism, freedom and confinement.
The spot remains a must see sight in Berlin with huge historical and emotional resonance, even accounting for the fact that there is remarkably little left to recall the atmosphere of pre-1989 days. An enormous amount of debating went into deciding what should be left here and preserved for Berliners and visitors to see in the future.

BERLIN

BERLIN

BERLIN - Checkpoint Charlie - Map

Checkpoint Charlie was the name given by the Western Allies to a crossing point between East Berlin and West Berlin during the Cold War, located at the junction of Friedrichstraße with Zimmerstraße and Mauerstraße.
It was designated as the single crossing point for foreigners and members of the Allied forces. The other six checkpoints were for West Germans and/or West Berliners.The name Charlie came for the letter C in the NATO phonetic alphabet. Checkpoint Charlie became a symbol of the Cold War, representing the separation of east and west, and it is frequently featured in spy movies and books.
The border-crossing point was removed in 1990, shortly before formal German reunification. A replica of the original building was rebuilt on the site in 2000, as a symbol of history and a curiosity for tourists.

BERLIN

BERLIN

BERLIN - Fernsehturm

The Fernsehturm is a television tower in the city centre of Berlin. This well-known landmark, close to Alexanderplatz, was constructed between 1965 and 1969 by the former German Democratic Republic. The GDR administration intended it as a symbol of Berlin, which it remains today, as it is easily visible throughout the central and some suburban districts of Berlin.
The height of the tower rose to 368 m after the installation of a new antenna in the 1990s. The Fernsehturm is the fourth tallest freestanding structure in Europe. There is a visitor platform and a rotating restaurant in the middle of the sphere, at a height of about 204 m above the ground where visibility can reach 42 km on a clear day.
When the sun shines on the Fernsehturm's tiled stainless steel dome, the reflection usually appears in the form of a cross. This effect was neither predicted nor desired by the planners. As a jibe against the atheist foundations of the Communist government, and the ongoing suppression of church institutions in East Germany, Berliners immediately named the luminous cross Rache des Papstes, or "Pope's Revenge".

BERLIN

BERLIN

BERLIN - Hauptbahnhof Berlin

Berlin Hauptbahnhof  - Berlin main station, sometimes translated as Berlin Central Station is the main railway station in Berlin, Germany. It came into full operation two days after a ceremonial opening on 26 May 2006. It is located on the site of the historic Lehrter Bahnhof, and until it opened as a main line station, it was a stop on the Berlin S-Bahn suburban railway temporarily named Berlin Hauptbahnhof–Lehrter Bahnhof. The station is operated by DB Station&Service, a subsidiary of Deutsche Bahn AG, and is classified as a Category 1 station, one of twenty in Germany and four in Berlin, the others being Berlin Gesundbrunnen, Berlin Südkreuz and Berlin Ostbahnhof.

BERLIN

BERLIN

BERLIN - Hauptman von Köpenick

Friedrich Wilhelm Voigt (13 February 1849 – 3 January 1922) was a German impostor who, in 1906, masqueraded as a Prussian military officer, rounded up a number of soldiers under his "command", and "confiscated" more than 4,000 marks from a municipal treasury. Although he served two years in prison, he became a folk hero as The Captain of Köpenick and was pardoned by Kaiser Wilhelm II.
BERLIN

BERLIN

BERLIN - Motorrad Museum

In the museum you will find more than 140 motorcycles, scooters and mopeds, the manufacturer DKW / IFA / MZ, Simson-Suhl, IWL and EMW. There is about 1000 square meters of exhibition space divided over 2 floors.

BERLIN

BERLIN

BERLIN - Pittiplatsch

Pittiplatsch, also known as Pitti for short, is a German fictional kobold character who was very famous in East Germany, especially as a puppet character on children's television. He first appeared in 1962 in the television series Meister Nadelöhr erzählt ("Narrations from Master Needle Eye"), later renamed Zu Besuch im Märchenland ("Visiting Fairyland"). The character was co-created by the writers Ingeborg Feustel and Günther Feustel, the sculptor Emma-Maria Lange, and the puppeteer Heinz Schröder.
Today, the short puppet colour films created for East German television are still broadcast on the Sandmännchen ("Little Sandman") children's TV program.
BERLIN

BERLIN

BERLIN - Reichstag

The Reichstag building is a historical edifice in Berlin, Germany, constructed to house the Reichstag, parliament of the German Empire. It was opened in 1894 and housed the Reichstag until 1933, when it was severely damaged in a fire supposedly set by Dutch communist Marinus van der Lubbe. During the Nazi era, the few meetings of members of the Reichstag as a group were held in the Kroll Opera House. After the Second World War the Reichstag building fell into disuse as the parliament of the German Democratic Republic met in the Palace of the Republic in East Berlin and the parliament of the Federal Republic of Germany met in the Bundeshaus in Bonn.
The building was made safe against the elements and partially refurbished in the 1960s, but no attempt at full restoration was made until after the reunification of Germany on October 3, 1990, when it underwent reconstruction led by internationally renowned architect Norman Foster. After its completion in 1999, it became the meeting place of the modern German parliament, the Bundestag.
The Reichstag as a parliament dates back to the Holy Roman Empire and ceased to act as a true parliament in the years of the Nazi regime (1933–1945). In today's usage, the German term Reichstag or Reichstagsgebäude (Reichstag building) refers to the building, while the term Bundestag refers to the institution.

BERLIN

BERLIN

BERLIN - Sandmannchen

Unser Sandmännchen, Das Sandmännchen, Abendgruß, Sandmann, Sandmännchen (Little Sandman) is a German children's bedtime television programme using stop motion animation. The puppet was based on the Ole Lukøje character by Hans Christian Andersen.
BERLIN

BERLIN

BERLIN - Schloss Köpenick

Schloss Köpenick is a Baroque water palace of the Hohenzollern electors of Brandenburg which stands on an island in the Dahme River surrounded by an English-style park and gives its name to Köpenick, a district of Berlin.
The castle was originally built on the foundations of a Slavic castle (6th century) in 1558 as a hunting lodge by order of Elector Joachim II Hector of Brandenburg. The building in a Renaissance style was located on the river island at the site of the former medieval fort. Today the castle surrounded by a small park serves as the Museum of Decorative Arts, run by the Prussian Cultural Heritage Foundation as part of the Berlin State Museums.
BERLIN

BERLIN

BERLIN - St. Marienkirche

St. Mary's Church, known in German as the Marienkirche, is a church in Berlin, Germany. It is located on Karl-Liebknecht-Straße in central Berlin, near Alexanderplatz. The exact age of the original church site and structure is not precisely known, but it was first mentioned in German chronicles in 1292. It is presumed to date from earlier in the 13th century. The architecture of the building is now largely composed of comparatively modern restoration work which took place in the late 19th century and in the post-war period. The church was originally a Roman Catholic church, but has been a Lutheran Protestant church since the Protestant Reformation.
BERLIN

BERLIN

BERLIN - Trabant 601

The Trabant 601 (or Trabant P601 series) was a Trabant model produced by VEB Sachsenring in Zwickau, Sachsen. It was the third generation of the model, built for the longest production time, from 1963 to 1990. As a result, it is the best-known Trabant model and often referred to simply as "the Trabant" or "the Trabi". During this long production run, 2,818,547 Trabant 601s were produced overall and it was the most common vehicle in former East Germany.
BERLIN

BERNKASTEL-KUES

BERNKASTEL-KUES - Burgruine Landshut

Bernkastel-Kues is a town over 700 years old, located on the Middle Moselle river in the district of Bernkastel-Wittlich, in Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany. Towering above the city of Bernkastel on a hill is the "Burgruine Landshut" (ruin of the Castle of Landshut), built in 1277.
It became a residence of the bishops of Trier in the 1200s. On January 8, 1692, a devastating fire swept the castle. What remained after the fire was preserved basically as it stands today.
The castle ruin is open to the public, admission free, and gives a beautiful view over the city and the vineyards of the Mosel valley.

BERNKASTEL-KUES

BODENWERDER

BODENWERDER - Münchhausenland Bodenwerder

Bodenwerder is a municipality in Holzminden district, Lower Saxony, Germany. It lies on the river Weser, upstream from Hamelin, at a point where the river has carved a gap in the hills. It is famous as the birthplace and residence of Baron Münchhausen and the Münchhausen museum and monument are notable tourist attractions.
The settlement was first granted the status of a town in 1287 by Ritter Heinrich II von Homburg. There was already an important bridge over the river here in 1289, which connected Hameln-Paderborn to Einbeck-Frankfurt. Around 1340 one of the Homburg Bodos was Lord of the Manor and originated a planned town with walls and towers. From him derives the town's name, which means "Bodo's Eyot".
In 1750, Baron Münchhausen retired to his estate here and told his famous stories to his friends. He died in 1797. His house was acquired by the town in 1935, which was used as the town hall; a room containing a Münchhausen museum was added.
The Münchhausen prize for literature is awarded in May each year.

BODENWERDER

BONN

BONN - Altes Rathaus

Bonn's city hall, originally constructed in Roccoco style in 1737, brilliantly dominates the three-cornered market place.
The building was reconstructed after World War II. The building played a significant political role while Bonn was the country's capital, from 1949 to 1999. Many national government institutions were moved from Bonn to Berlin after the after the unification, so the city hall now serves purely ceremonial purposes.
The city hall’s flight of outdoor stairs with its golden grating had been the scene of many historical events. In 1962, Charles de Gaulle, the French President of the State, delivered an address here, and US President John F. Kennedy did so in 1963. The list would become quite long, if all emperors, kings and presidents, as well as all world stars from the sectors of music and sports who visited Bonn were to mention here.

BONN

BONN

BONN - Ludwig van Beethoven

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770–1827) was a German composer and pianist, acknowledged as one of the giants of classical music.
He was a crucial figure in the transitional period between the Classical and Romantic eras in Western classical music, and remains one of the most respected and influential composers of all time.
Born in Bonn, he moved to Vienna in his early twenties and settled there, studying with Joseph Haydn and quickly gaining a reputation as a virtuoso pianist.
Beethoven's hearing gradually deteriorated beginning in his twenties, yet he continued to compose, and to conduct and perform, even after he was completely deaf.

BONN

BORG

BORG - Villa Borg

The Roman Villa Borg is a reconstructed Roman villa rustica located near the villages of Borg and Oberleuken in the municipality of Perl in Saarland, Germany. Discovered at the end of the 19th century, the site was excavated in the late 1980s. Reconstruction work, which began in the mid 1990s, was virtually completed in late 2008 although further excavation work is still continuing. The site is a popular tourist attraction with some 50,000 visitors per year.
It was Johann Schneider, a local schoolteacher, who around the year 1900 first came across the site after noticing unnatural mounds in the area. He soon discovered the remains of walls as well as Roman pottery. Partly as a result of the World Wars, little was done until the mid 1980s when the Saarland authorities fenced the site off after illegal excavations started to threaten its survival. Systematic excavation work began in 1987. The excavations soon revealed evidence of pre-Roman inhabitation directly below the foundations of the Roman villa. Not only were there traces of Iron Age structures but also of Beaker culture settlements. Tools dating from the Neolithic period were also found on the site.

BORG

BORKUM

BORKUM - Feuerschiff

The first original lightship could have been a particular version of the Roman galley ships. These ships, rowed by slaves, had a mast stump with an iron basket , in which possibly a fire burned at night. These "lightships" were meant to deter pirates and guide trading ships into the harbour.
But the actual development of lightship starts in the 15th century. The Dutch had so called lightships positioned outside their harbours, which only withdrew when the whole fishing fleet had returned home.
Weser III built in 1888 started the iron age finally. The ship was redesigned several times and served until 1977 on several stations. Most of the new builds from 1906 received steam driven propulsion. From 1912 diesel engines with 300 to 500 horse power with 9 knots. Several ships were built with this spec. Only after WWII two further remarkable new ships were built. First the largest light ship in the world "Elbe 1" with 1000t and second the light ship "Borkumriff". The special thing about "Borkumriff" was that the deck housings were made from light metal.

BORKUM

BORKUM

BORKUM - Nordseebad Borkum

Borkum is an island in the Leer District in Lower Saxony, northwestern Germany. It has an area of about 30.6 km² and a population of about 5.587. Borkum is bordered to the west by the Westerems strait (which forms the border with the Netherlands), to the east by the Osterems strait, to the north by the North Sea, and to the south by the Wadden Sea. It is the westernmost of the East Frisian Islands in the North Sea, due north of the Dutch province of Groningen.
Borkum formed from two islands which were still parted by a flow of shallow water in 1863. The seam between the former eastern and western parts is called Tüskendör ("through in between").

BORKUM

BORNHAGEN

BORNHAGEN - Burg Hanstein

The castle ruin Hanstein is one of the most famous and interesting castle complexes in central Germany. In its present extent it was constructed in 1308 following a building period of 200 years. From the accessible north tower you can enjoy a beautiful view over the surroundings, and on a clear day you can see for instance the Brocken mountain in the Harz mountains. On offer are events, concerts, fairytales, exhibitions of cribs and Hanstein festivals.

BORNHAGEN

BRANDENBURG AN DER HAVEL

BRANDENBURG AN DER HAVEL - Der Dom zu Brandenburg an der Havel

The Cathedral of St. Peter and Paul is located on the cathedral island of the city of Brandenburg an der Havel in Brandenburg. The core of this early brick church dates from the Romanesque period (from 1165). Vault and eastern parts date  from the late Gothic (mid-15th Century).
The building is as basilica with two aisles. Under the high choir is a hall crypt. The panorama was taken at the edge of the high choir.
BRANDENBURG AN DER HAVEL

BÜCKEBURG

BÜCKEBURG - 40 Jahre Drehende Flügel

The Hubschraubermuseum Bückeburg (Bückeburg Helicopter Museum) is located in the German town of Bückeburg, 30 miles (50 km) to the west of Hannover.
The world's only and unique helicopter museum has been located since 1971 in the historical listed building "Burgmannshof" at the Sablé Place. Already Leonardo da Vinci dealt with air vehicles that were heavier than air. His sketch of a helical screw from 1483 became the basis of helicopter aviation.  More than 40 original exhibits such as single-rotor and multi-rotor helicopters, gyrocopters, and winged helicopters, many assemblies and components as gears and propulsion units, as well as a great number of models are shown on 2000 square meters.

BÜCKEBURG

BÜCKEBURG

BÜCKEBURG - Royal Court Riding School

Horse lovers can expect a very special surprise in Bückeburg castle: in the Fürstliche Hofreitschule (royal court riding school) visiting "students” can learn about historical equestrian arts from the 11th to the 17th century within the framework of the "Lebendiges Pferdemuseums" (living horse museum).
Since 1992, the operators Wolfgang and Christin Krischke have been dedicated to their project "Das Lebendige Pferdemuseum”. Shows include the High School of equestrianism as well as Gothic, Renaissance and Baroque passages at arms on horseback.
Glamorously dressed students ride stallions of the Pure Spanish race, Lusitanier, Andalusian Karthäuser and Italian Murgesen. In this display of equestrian art, horse and rider melt into one artificial being, the centaur. The horse mirrors all the different facets of the rider’s emotions in its dance on four hooves.
BÜCKEBURG

BÜCKEBURG

BÜCKEBURG - Schloss Bückeburg

Bückeburg Castle (Schloss Bückeburg) was the residence of the Princes of Schaumburg-Lippe. Today, the Princely family, having surrendered political power in 1918, still lives there. The castle, which in part is open to the public, is a major touristic point of interest and houses important works of art. The building history spans 700 years, with the most important contributions stemming from the 16th,17th and 19th century.
BÜCKEBURG

BÜCKEBURG

BÜCKEBURG - The Cornu Helicopter

Cornu first built an unmanned experimental design powere by a 2 hp Buchet engine.
It was powered by a 24 horsepower (18 kW) Antoinette engine. He piloted this construction himself at Normandy, France on November 13, 1907. Previously, a French helicopter, the Breguet-Richet Gyroplane I, had managed to lift off under its own power, but it had been held in position by men standing on the ground. Cornu's performance was a considerable progress because his aircraft flew without additional support and lifted Cornu about 30 cm (1 ft) for 20 seconds . Unfortunately this early helicopter was scarcely maneuverable and had only a few additional flights. The construction was not much further developed by this technical pioneer, who had to keep on making a living by manufacturing bicycles.
BÜCKEBURG

BUSDORF

BUSDORF - Wikinger Drakkar

From 1979 and almost 20 years ahead this wreck held the position as the worlds longest Viking ship found. In 1997 a new find in Roskilde harbour took over this title, which with the inclusion of Skuldelev 2 makes a group of three wrecks from old Danish territory of very long warships dating from the late Viking Period. Either rowed or under sail they have been awesome demonstrations of wealth and power as well as serving the purpose of transporting large numbers of warriors. The Haithabu 1 wreck was built in the Nordic clinker tradition with excellent craftsmanship of the finest materials, but ended its service as a fireship in an attack on the town of Haithabu probably very close to the place where it was built.
BUSDORF

BÜSUM

BÜSUM - Büsum 175 Jahre

Büsum is a fishing and tourist town in the district of Dithmarschen, in Schleswig-Holstein, Germany. It is situated on the North Sea coast, approx. 18 km southwest of Heide.
Since 1818, Büsum has been used as a spa town visited for the healing effects of the seawater and the mudflats of the Walden Sea. It gained official Nordseebad (North Sea spa) status in 1837.
In 1949, Büsum was officially named a Nordseeheilbad (North Sea health spa). Nowadays, Büsum is a popular summer vacation spot for families and day trips from Hamburg.
One of Büsum's landmarks is the lighthouse. Built in 1912/13 from 55 tons of cast iron plates, it was originally painted black until it received its characteristic red and white coat in 1952.

BÜSUM

BÜSUM

BÜSUM - Büsumer Leuchtturm

A listed monument, the nearly 80-foot-high Büsum Lighthouse has been flashing its signal since 1913. The Royal Office for Aquatic Engineering (Königliches Wasserbauamt) was responsible for its construction and although the lighthouse was officially commissioned 30th December 1912, ten months were to pass before the signal light could be put into operation. Today, the lighthouse is managed by the Waterways and Shipping Office (Wasser- und Schifffahrtsamt) in Tönning and has been remote-controlled from a central control station there since 1976.

BÜSUM

COCHEM

COCHEM - Senfmühle

This mustard mill was built in 1810 and ranks among the oldest in Europe. The original location of the mill is unknown, but records show that it was restored and operated in Belgium in 1931 and after that eventually moved to the Netherlands. In 1997, this technical monument - however in a very bad condition - was acquired by its current owner Mr. Wolfgang Steffens, who meticulously overhauled and refurbished it.
The grinding process is carried out by millstones weighing 525 kg. Using the cold-grind method, the 200-year-old mustard mill is now back into operation and produces award-winning mustard specialities, based on recipes handed over through generations. The goal is to manufacture mustard such as it was made in the year of construction of the mustard mill, with all the valuable content of the whole mustard seed and with all the ethereal oils and natural substances completely preserved. The daily production is just 360 kg.

COCHEM

COCHEM

COCHEM - Cochemer Sesselbahn

The Cochem chair lift offers you a charming ride that will take you up to the „Pinner Kreuz“. A footpath at the top will take you to one of the most panoramic viewpoints over the town which is dominated by the impressive castle.
The region is famous for its wine industry, and from the top of the hill you get a splendid view over the vineyards on the surrounding hillsides of the Moselle River valley.

COCHEM

COCHEM

COCHEM - Marktplatz

Cochem is probably the finest looking castle and scene directly on the banks of the Mosel river. The castle enjoys a commanding view over the Mosel and the town of Cochem. However even with the commanding view and the steep access to the castle, history has not been kind to the original. It was seized by the German emperor in 1151 and in 1294 was mortgaged to the archbishop of Trier.
The square tower visible at the center of the castle is the keep that served as a last gasp refuge for its residents when the battle created a serious threat of breach by the enemy. This did in fact happen in 1689 when King Louis XIV of France had the castle totally destroyed. It remained a ruin for about 200 years.
It was completely rebuilt by a Berlin merchant, Louise Ravene, according to the original plans. So, while the structure may not be the original, the plans are true to the original. It was sold by force to the German government in 1942 and since 1978 has been the property of the town of Cochem.

COCHEM

COCHEM

COCHEM - Reichsburg

Cochem is probably the finest looking castle and scene directly on the banks of the Mosel river. The castle enjoys a commanding view over the Mosel and the town of Cochem. However even with the commanding view and the steep access to the castle, history has not been kind to the original. It was seized by the German emperor in 1151 and in 1294 was mortgaged to the archbishop of Trier.
The square tower visible at the center of the castle is the keep that served as a last gasp refuge for its residents when the battle created a serious threat of breach by the enemy. This did in fact happen in 1689 when King Louis XIV of France had the castle totally destroyed. It remained a ruin for about 200 years.
It was completely rebuilt by a Berlin merchant, Louise Ravene, according to the original plans. It was sold to the German government in 1942 and since 1978 has been the property of the town of Cochem.


COCHEM

COCHEM

COCHEM - Reichsburg Panorama

Those who choose to admire the Reichsburg only "from afar” will miss a stunning view of Cochem and the Moselle Valley. Even if you decide to skip the 40-minute guided tour (5.00 € per adult), the walk up to the castle, while steep, is an enjoyable experience that takes about 20 minutes from the center of town on a narrow paved road. You can also take a shuttle bus or drive up the winding Schlossstraße by car, but parking near the castle is limited. There is also a falconry show near the castle.
The castle’s Sonnenterrasse (sun terrace) restaurant is a good place to end your tour or to just enjoy some food and drink.
COCHEM

COLDITZ

COLDITZ - Schloss Colditz

Colditz Castle is a Renaissance castle in the town of Colditz near Leipzig, Dresden and Chemnitz in the state of Saxony in Germany. Used as a workhouse for the indigent and a mental institution for over 100 years, it gained international fame as a prisoner-of-war camp during World War II for "incorrigible" Allied officers who had repeatedly escaped from other camps.
The castle lies between the towns of Hartha and Grimma on a hill spur over the Zwickauer Mulde and had the first wildlife park in Germany.

COLDITZ

KÖLN

COLOGNE - Ohh...!de Cologne

Cologne is Germany's fourth-largest city (after Berlin, Hamburg, and Munich), and is the largest city both in the German Federal State of North Rhine-Westphalia and within the Rhine-Ruhr Metropolitan Area.
Cologne is located on both sides of the Rhine River. The city's famous Cologne Cathedral (Kölner Dom) is the seat of the Catholic Archbishop of Cologne. The University of Cologne (Universität zu Köln) is one of Europe's oldest and largest universities.
Cologne was founded and established in the first century AD, as the Roman Colonia Claudia Ara Agrippinensium in Ubii territory.

KÖLN

DÖMITZ

DÖMITZ - 60 jahre Museum Dömitz

The fortress Doemitz, located on the banks of Mecklenburg Elbe is one of the few well-preserved 16th-country fortification Century in northern Germany. In the shape of a pentagon created and provided with bastions and casemates it shows the impressive military architecture of the Renaissance. Since 1953, the walls of the fortress to house a museum Doemitz city and the region.
Due to the peculiarity of the structure and due to the extremely good condition of the fortress was made in 1975 under monument protection.The museum fortress Doemitz is primarily a city history museum with a varied and interesting exhibition on the history of development of the city of 17 Century to the present. An exhibition on the importance of navigation on the river and the docks for the city Doemitz, as well as an extensive ethnographic department of the area "Griese area" also emphasize the regional historical character of the museum.

DÖMITZ

DRESDEN

DRESDEN - Die Dresdner Frauenkirche

The Dresden Frauenkirche is a Lutheran church in Dresden, the capital of the German state of Saxony. An earlier church building was Roman Catholic until it became Protestant during the Reformation, and was replaced in the 18th century by a larger Baroque Lutheran building. It is considered an outstanding example of Protestant sacred architecture, featuring one of the largest domes in Europe. It now also serves as a symbol of reconciliation between former warring enemies.
DRESDEN

DRESDEN

DRESDEN - Elbflorenz

Dresden has a worldwide reputation for being one of Germany’s most beautiful cities. With its mix of tradition and modernity, the so-called Elbflorenz (Florence on the Elbe) has always fascinated its many visitors. Many of the buildings that were destroyed during the Second World War have been restored or, like the Frauenkirche, lovingly rebuilt. Taking a stroll through the Baroque city centre, walking along the former residence of Saxony’s prince electors and kings, and admiring the beautiful view across the Elbe, you will definitely feel the seductive charm the capital of the Free State of Saxony exudes.
DRESDEN

EBERGÖTZEN

EBERGÖTZEN - Max und Moritz

Max and Moritz (A Story of Seven Boyish Pranks) (original: Max und Moritz - Eine Bubengeschichte in sieben Streichen) is a German language illustrated story in verse. This highly inventive, blackly humorous tale, told entirely in rhymed couplets, was written and illustrated by Wilhelm Busch and published in 1865. It is among the early works of Busch, nevertheless it already features many substantial, effectually aesthetic and formal regularities, procedures and basic patterns of Busch's later works

EBERGÖTZEN

ERFURT

ERFURT - Dom und Severikirche

Erfurt’s landmark is the unique ensemble created by the combined effect of the Mariendom (Cathedral of The Blessed Virgin Mary) together with the Severikirche (St. Severus Church). These two magnificent examples of German Gothic architecture at its best majestically dominate the cityscape. The "Gloriosa" (1497), the "Queen of Bells", has been praised for centuries throughout Europe for its magnificent resonance.
Inside the cathedral there is an elaborate Gothic chancel with a series of 13 coloured stained-glass windows which are almost 13 meters high and are among the greatest works of medieval stained-glass art. The cathedral contains many noteworthy art treasures that have been created throughout the various centuries. A wide and impressive open-air stairway leads up from the market square to the cathedral itself and to the Church of St. Severus (1278 - 1400), which contains the sarcophagus of St. Severus (1363).

ERFURT

FREIBURG IM BREISGAU

FREIBURG IM BREISGAU - Freiburg Münster

Freiburg Minster, German: Freiburger Münster or Münster Unserer Lieben Frau, is the cathedral of Freiburg im Breisgau, southwest Germany. The last duke of Zähringen had started the building around 1200 in romanesque style, the construction continued in 1230 in Gothic style. The minster was partly built on the foundations of an original church that had been there from the beginning of Freiburg in 1120.
In the Middle Ages, Freiburg lay in the Diocese of Konstanz. In 1827 the Freiburg Minster became the seat of the newly erected Catholic Archdiocese of Freiburg and thus a cathedral.
FREIBURG IM BREISGAU

FREUDENSTADT

FREUDENSTADT - Freudenstadt

Freudenstadt, situated on a high plateau at the edge of the Black Forest, was founded in 1599 and built in the late Renaissance style by Heinrich Schickhardt. Schickhardt, also referred to as "Swabia's Leonardo da Vinci" was the architectural planner employed by Duke Friedrich I, whose intention was to build a palace in the center of Freudenstadt.
However, the sudden death of the Duke caused these plans to be abandoned. This is why Freudenstadt can ever since boast Germany's largest market square, entirely surrounded by arcaded houses.
The Gothic/Renaissance Evangelical Lutheran Church, with its green tower roofs dates back to the beginning of the 17th century and is considered Freudenstadt's most significant building.

FREUDENSTADT

FULDA

FULDA - Deutsche Feuerwehren - Autospritze 1922

The German Fire Brigade Museum in Fulda was founded in 1963 and in 1988 an extra part was opened, the 1,600 m² exhibition area is presenting the history of the fire brigade from the Middle Ages to the present day.
The German Fire Museum shows the history of the fire, fire fighting and fire protection not only as a field of technology history, but also as a cultural and social history. In the hall there are exhibits and like the history of the fire with special reference to fire fighting and fire protection from the time of mainly 16th to 19 Century.

FULDA

FULDA

FULDA - Deutsche Feuerwehren - Dampfsprize 1908

The German Fire Fighting Museum presents the history of Fire-fighting and Fire Prevention, not only as special branch of history and technology, but also as a subject of cultural and social history.
Established in 1988 in Fulda, an attractive centre in the State of Hesse, in the reunited Federal Republic of Germany, the contemporary building contains two spacious display halls, which are connected by an administrative wing. In an exhibition space of approximately 1,600 square metres, the exhibits are surrounded by historical backdrops, whereby the particular items from simple leather buckets to complex fire appliances of more recent times are vividly presented in their contemporary context.

FULDA

FÜSSEN

FÜSSEN - Hohen Schloss

The town of Füssen is charmingly located on the edge of the Bavarian Alps, framed in by imposing high mountain peaks and an idyllic lake district.
The Hohes Schloss (High Castle) is Füssen’s landmark, towering over a maze of narrow lanes. This is the former summer residence of the prince bishops of Augsburg and one of Swabia’s largest and best preserved late gothic castle complexes.
The living quarters today house a branch gallery of the Bavarian State Collections of Paintings. The facades in the castle courtyard are adorned with illusionist paintings that delude the viewer into seeing oriels, window frames and molded corners.

FÜSSEN

GARMISCH-PARTENKIRCHEN

GARMISCH-PARTENKIRCHEN - Zugspitse

The Zugspitze, at 2,962 m (9,718 ft) above sea level, is the highest peak of the Wetterstein Mountains as well as the highest mountain in Germany. It lies south of the town of Garmisch-Partenkirchen, and the border between Germany and Austria runs over its western summit. South of the mountain is the Zugspitzplatt, a high karst plateau with numerous caves. On the flanks of the Zugspitze are three glaciers, including the two largest in Germany: the Northern Schneeferner with an area of 30.7 hectares and the Höllentalferner with an area of 24.7 hectares. The third is the Southern Schneeferner which covers 8.4 hectares.
For those wishing to reach the summit under their own power, various hiking and ski trails can also be followed to the top. Hiking to the top from the base takes between one and two days, or a few hours for the very fit. Food and lodging is available on some trails. In winter the Zugspitze is a popular skiing and snowboarding destination, with several slopes on both sides. The Zugspitzplatt is Germany's highest ski resort, and thus normally has sufficient snow throughout the winter.
GARMISCH-PARTENKIRCHEN

GERA

GERA - Tierpark Gera - Der Waldzoo Öffnungszeiten - Lion

The Gera zoo, situated in the city forest at the scenic "Martinsgrund”, is home to 80 species totaling about 500 animals. The little farm, "petting zoo” and a ride on the little train in the zoo are attractions especially liked by the younger visitors.
GERA

GERA

GERA - Tierpark Gera - Der Waldzoo Öffnungszeiten - Mufflon

The Gera Zoo was founded in 1962 and is situated directly in the town forest. 500 animals of about 80 species of mainly the northern hemisphere live here on an area of around 20 hectares.
GERA

GERMANY

GERMANY - Alexander der Grosse

Alexander III of Macedon (commonly known as Alexander the Great), was a king of Macedon, a state in northern ancient Greece. Born in Pella in 356 BC, Alexander was tutored by Aristotle until the age of 16. By the age of thirty, he had created one of the largest empires of the ancient world, stretching from the Ionian Sea to the Himalayas. He was undefeated in battle and is considered one of history's most successful commanders. Alexander succeeded his father, Philip II of Macedon, to the throne in 336 BC after Philip was assassinated. Upon Philip's death, Alexander inherited a strong kingdom and an experienced army. He was awarded the generalship of Greece and used this authority to launch his father's military expansion plans.

GERMANY

GERMANY

GERMANY - Benedictus PP XVI

Pope Benedict XVI (Latin: Benedictus PP. XVI, born Joseph Alois Ratzinger on 16 April 1927) is the 265th and reigning Pope, by virtue of his office of Bishop of Rome, the head of the Roman Catholic Church and, as such, Sovereign of the Vatican City State.
He was elected on 19 April 2005 in a papal conclave, celebrated his Papal Inauguration Mass on 24 April 2005, and took possession of his cathedral, the Basilica of St. John Lateran, on 7 May 2005. Pope Benedict XVI has both German and Vatican citizenship. He succeeded Pope John Paul II.

GERMANY

GERMANY

GERMANY - Lutherrose

The Luther seal or Luther rose is a widely recognized symbol for Lutheranism. It was the seal that was designed for Martin Luther at the behest of John Frederick of Saxony in 1530, while Luther was staying at the Coburg Fortress during the Diet of Augsburg. Lazarus Spengler, to whom Luther wrote his interpretation below, sent Luther a drawing of this seal. Luther saw it as a compendium or expression of his theology and faith, which he used to authorize his correspondence. Luther informed Philipp Melanchthon on September 15, 1530, that the Prince had personally visited him in the Coburg fortress and presented him with a signet ring, presumably displaying the seal.
GERMANY

GIFHORN

GIFHORN - Windmillmuseum - Bergholländer

This tower mill comes from Westdorf in the district of Dithmarschen, where it was built in 1848 under the name Immanuel. It is one of the original three mills that was established at the museum. It is described in German as a Bergholländer ("Dutch hill mill") or Kellerholländer ("Dutch cellar mill"). These terms indicated that, in the former case that the mill was built on a small hill, and in the latter, that it had a cellar into which the horses and carts could be driven. During the course of its history the mill was modified many times and evolved into a highly technical mill including, inter alia an automatic wind rose. The sails could be adjusted to the wind speed. In 1969 the last miller offered to donate the mill in a newspaper advert on the condition that it was rebuilt. The newspaper publisher, Axel Springer, acquired the mill and had it restored. Later he donated it to the mill museum, where it was rebuilt in 1979.

GIFHORN

GIFHORN

GIFHORN - Windmillmuseum - Portugese Windmill

The International Wind- and Watermill Museum, at Gifhorn in the German state of Lower Saxony, is the only one of its kind in Europe. On the museum's open air site, which covers an area of around 16 hectares (40 acres). The mills are either original or faithful reproductions and are set in landscapes typical of their origins. Right across the site are historic artefacts associated with mills and the milling industry.
This replica mill comes from Torres Vedras in central Portugal. It also represents the type of mill found on the Algarve coast. The mill, with its four triangular sails, is typical of Portugal and the Mediterranean area.

GIFHORN

GOSLAR

GOSLAR - Altstadt Goslar

Goslar has a rich history stretching from the Neolithic via the ancient Saxon times, the Holy Roman German empire, Reformation, Enlightenment, German Nationalism, Emancipation, Militarism, German Imperialism, Democratisation, the National Socialist Dictatorship including Racism & Genocide, the Iron Curtain, up to German reunification. In addition Goslar can field an exciting industrial history.
Salian Emperor Henry I founded the town in the 10th century after the discovery of silver deposits in the nearby Rammelsberg. The wealth derived from silver mining brought Goslar the status of an Imperial City, which attracted the interest of the Holy Roman Emperor.
The Mediæval Imperial Palace of Goslar (Kaiserpfalz) was built in the 11th century and became a summer residence for the emperors, especially Henry III of Germany who visited his favourite palace about twenty times. Henry is buried in Goslar.
Goslar's Mediæval cathedral was built at the same time as the Mediæval Imperial Palace, but only the porch survived; the dome itself was torn down in 1820. Other sights are the town hall (16th century) and the ancient mines of the Rammelsberg, which houses now a mining museum.

GOSLAR

GOSLAR

GOSLAR - Rammelsberg

The Rammelsberg mining complex was in continuous use for at least 1000 years, before it closed its doors in 1988 due to exhaustion. The uniqueness of this site lies in its long history of mining and metal production. A variety of metals were discovered here over the ages, including copper, zinc, lead, silver and gold.
The nearby town of Goslar owns its level of development to the mining industry. It achieved great prosperity in the late Middle Ages thanks to the revenues from mining, metal production and trade. Goslar also played an important role in the Hanseatic League.
In and around Rammelsberg and Goslar a great number of monuments give testimony to this period in history. Among the worldheritage listed are mine-owners' houses, underground tunnels and transportation tracks , office buildings and churches.

GOSLAR

GÖTTINGEN

GÖTTINGEN - Altes Rathaus

The Old City Hall in Göttingen is the most beautiful building on the market square of Gottingen. Until the construction of the New Town Hall, this place was the central building of the city.
The Old Town Hall is now used for different purposes. The former council chamber that is accessible by a staircase on the south side of the building, is a location for events such as concerts, ceremonies and receptions of the city. The first floor has an exhibition area, which is operated by the Cultural Office of the City.
In the basement of City Hall is the Rathskeller, a restaurant with a focus on simple, home-made cuisine.

GÖTTINGEN

GÖTTINGEN

GÖTTINGEN - Gänseliesel Göttingen

The Gänseliesel  is a fountain which was erected in 1901 in front of the mediaeval town hall of Göttingen. Although rather small in size, the fountain is the most well-known landmark of the city. Today, it is an essential part of the graduation celebrations for every student who finishes a doctorate at the George August University Göttingen to climb the fountain and to kiss the statue of the goose girl.
Since the 18th century, a fountain was located on the site of the Gänseliesel. However, the old fountain was partially pulled down in the early 19th century due to deterioration. In 1898, the city council decided to construct a new fountain, for which sculptors from all over Germany presented their proposals. The citizens of Göttingen widely preferred the simpler design of the goose girl, probably because the simple girl image best represents the common people - in contrast to the numerous statues of famous university scientists found in the city. After long discussion, the Gänseliesel, then designed by the architect Heinrich Stöckhardt and created by the sculptor Paul Nisse, was finally put up in 1901 without any official ceremony. The Gänseliesel fountain does not have any particular connection to the history of the town.

GÖTTINGEN

GREETSIEL

GREETSIEL - Greetsieler Zwillingsmühlen

The twin smock mills in Greetsiel make a popular photo image. The two-storey Dutch windmills are very similar, but of different ages: the red mill was built back in 1856 whereas the green one was not built until 1921. Both mills had predecessors who were either destroyed by storms or fires. The older one is today a museum mill and the younger one is an art gallery.

GREETSIEL

HAMELN

HAMELN - Rattenfängerhaus - Pied Piper's House

Although the stone facade dates from 1602, the half-timbered building known colloquially as the Pied Piper’s House in Hameln is actually much older. The facade was built for Mayor Hermann Arendes by the architects Johann Hundertossen and/or Eberhard Wilkening in the style of the Renaissance. The older picture shows the adjacent "Street without Music” with a view of buildings that no longer stand today. The stone construction to the left also exists no more.
The bay window on the left is called the "Utlucht" which means "looking out" in low German. There was a highly decorated gable mounted here before 1850, parts of which may be seen at the lapidarium of the Hameln Museum.
The Pied Piper’s House carries the name not because the Piper lived here, but because of an inscription on the side.
HAMELN

HANN. MÜNDEN

HANN. MÜNDEN - Dokter Johann Andreas Eisenbart

Johann Andreas Eisenbarth (March 27, 1663 in Oberviechtach – November 11, 1727 in Hann. Münden) was a German physician
Eisenbarth was baptized as a catholic on the 27th of March in Oberviechtach. His father, Mathias Eisenbarth was an oculist. Being born as the son of an oculist, Eisenbarth soon followed his father in his footsteps and became an oculist himself. He went to school in Bamberg and was a student of the oculist Alexander Biller.
Eisenbarth was a travelling doctor, after his final exams in 1685 he started his journey. He travelled from country to country and became famous due to his 'miracles'.
In 1689 Eisenbarth became a citizen of Erfurt and not much later he gave himself the name of: 'citydoctor of Erfurt.
After some years, in 1703 more specifically, Eisenbarth travelled to Magdeburg and became a citizen there. In Magdeburg Eisenbarth bouth his house which is named: 'Zum Gülden Apfel'.

HANN. MÜNDEN

HANN. MÜNDEN

HANN. MÜNDEN - Welfenschloss

The first Mündener castle 1501 was finished by Herzog Erich I as a Gothic construction. It concerned a residence castle with administrative seat. After almost entire destruction in case of a fire in 1560 Herzog Erich II. built up the castle in the style of the early Weser Renaissance again. Later the Welfen castle became less important more and more and was used only sporadically as a place of residence of the sovereigns. A renewed fire in 1849 destroyed the south wing which was not rebuilt. Are received in the today's Welfen castle in which the town archive, the town library, the district court and the urban museum are accommodated, two Renaissance rooms with exhaustive mural paintings.


HANN. MÜNDEN

HANN. MÜNDEN

HANN. MÜNDEN - Weser Ranaissance Rathaus Hann. Munden

The magnificent town hall is one of the most important examples of Weser Renaissance architecture in North Germany. In the lower town hall chamber, murals portray moments from the town’s history. The upper town hall chamber, the former Hochtiedshus (wedding house), today hosts exhibitions. The town hall is a popular place to get married, offering, as it does, an ideal setting in either the more intimate wedding room or the splendid council chamber as well as the magical music of the carillon. Wedding couples from all over the world have left a personal memento of their big day in the shape of decorated wooden hearts attached to the ancient beams. The Doctor Eisenbart carillon in the town hall’s gable chimes 12 noon, 3pm and 5pm daily.

HANN. MÜNDEN

HANN. MÜNDEN

HANN. MÜNDEN - Weserstein

The Weser stones are two memorial stones in Hann.
The (old) Weser is a memorial stone on placed on the 2nd  September of 1899.
It has a patriotic text of four lines:

Wo Werra sich und Fulda küssen
Sie ihre Namen büssen müssen,
Und hier entsteht durch diesen Kuss
Deutsch bis zum Meer der Weser Fluss.

Hann. Münden, d. 31. Juli 1899

The stone was donated by the Industrial Natermann and his son.

 

HANN. MÜNDEN

HASSELFELDE

HASSELFELDE - Pullman City Harz - Bison

 On an area of 200.000m ² , not far from the Brocken, a western town, a trip to the time of was reconstructed in the visitors " Wild West " experience.
The Western Metropole Pullman City Harz offers a wide entertainment program with hourly changing show program for the whole family.
In addition to animal enclosures and adventure play areas, numerous accommodations are in log cabins, ranch houses or in the Grand Silver Star Hotel for a memorable experience available. Enjoy great culinary diversity in the gastronomic setting and daily live music in the Big Moose Saloon.
Pullman City means adventure. You can experience the everyday life of cowboys and Indians close.
HASSELFELDE

HASSELFELDE

HASSELFELDE - Pullman City Harz - Cowboy

Come closer and experience the unique western town in the Harz. Get ready for action-packed Western shows, authentic performances and a world of experiences. Trial pits the gold in the Yukon or visit the Indians in their huts and learn more about the life and culture of the Wild West. With us you experience your dreams.
HASSELFELDE

HASSLOCH

HASSLOCH - Holyday Park Plopsa - Expedition GeForce

Expedition GeForce is a steel roller coaster located at Holiday Park in Haßloch, Germany. It is one of the largest roller coasters in Europe and has an 82 degree first drop. The trains travel up to 120 kilometres per hour (75 mph) through a course 1.2 kilometres (0.75 mi) long with seven periods of weightlessness. At its highest, the ride reaches 53 metres (174 ft) above ground.
Until the opening of Silver Star at Europa Park, it was the tallest roller coaster operating on the European mainland.
HASSLOCH

HASSLOCH

HASSLOCH - Holyday Park Plopsa - Sky Scream

New unique launch coaster! Riders will experience lightning speeds of 100 kilometers per hour, with many exciting and unique elements including multiple launches, a twisting heartline inversion and ascending and descinding twists.
HASSLOCH

HASSLOCH

HASSLOCH - Holyday Park Plopsa- I love Plopsa

„Let’s have some fun!" is the motto of Holiday Park Plopsa in Haßloch in the region of Pfalz, inviting its large number of visitors to an action-packed day. Experience lots of activities and fascination in the 100 acres of this theme park, the center and main attraction of which are the thrill attractions, first and foremost the mega coaster Expedition GeForce, offering roller coaster addicts more than just their money's worth. In addition, the park offers a well-balanced range of attractions suitable for the whole family, with its tranquil setting and beautiful park-like gardens prompting you to pause for a moment and just relax.
HASSLOCH

OBERSTDORF

Heini-Klopfer-Skiflugschanze

Oberstdorf is the leading wintersports resort located in the Allgäu region of the Bavarian Alps. This is where the World Nordic Championships were held in 1987. The summits of the Nebelhorn and Fellhorn provide dramatic panoramic views of the alps.

Visitors can ride a unique diagonal elevator to the top of the Heini-Klopfer-Skiflugschanze.

Ski jump fact sheet:
- Foundation: 500 m² of concrete
- Anchoring: 40 Steel anchors of 14m deep

- Length: 144m
- Height: 72m
- Inclination: 39°
- Overhang: 57m

- Jump off speed: approximately 106 km/h
- Jump length: approximately 260m
- Difference in height: approximately 132m

OBERSTDORF

HILDESHEIM

HILDESHEIM - Rathaus

The City Hall, erected in Gothic style, is one of the oldest city halls in Germany. The construction was started in 1268 and completed in 1290, using sandstone from a local quarry which still can be seen in a forest in Hildesheim called Steinberg (Stone Mountain). Frequently remodelled over the centuries (e.g. in 1375, 1454 and 1883–87) and heavily damaged in 1945, the City Hall was rebuilt after the war and inaugurated in 1954. One of its towers, which remained nearly undamaged during the war, dates from the 13th century and is called "Lilie" (Lily). The origin of the name is uncertain. The tower consists of very thick walls (2 meters) and may have been a tower of the first city wall which was torn down when the city expanded and a new market place was necessary.
 The other tower which was added to the City Hall looks similar to the "Lilie", but it is much younger. It was built at the end of the 19th century. Like the "Lilie", this tower remained almost undamaged in World war II.

HILDESHEIM

HILDESHEIM

HILDESHEIM - St. Michaeliskirche

The Church of St. Michael (German: Michaeliskirche) is an early-Romanesque church in Hildesheim, Germany. It has been on the UNESCO World Cultural Heritage list since 1985. It is now a Lutheran church.
Bishop Bernward of Hildesheim (996-1022) built a Benedictine monastery from the ground up on a hill linked with the archangel Michael just a half kilometer north of the city walls of his seat (Hildesheim), a monastery that featured an imposing church some 70 meters in length overall. Bernward set the first stone for the new church in 1010 and dedicated the still unfinished building to Michael on the archangel's feast day, 29 September 1022, just a few weeks before his death. Construction, however, continued under his successor, Bishop Godehard (died 1038), who completed the work in 1031 and reconsecrated the church to Michael on September 29 of that year. Bishop Bernward's remains were placed in the western crypt.

HILDESHEIM

HOCKENHEIM

HOCKENHEIM - Hockenheimring

In the early 2000s, F1 officials demanded the 6.823 km (4.240 mi) track be shortened and threatened to discontinue racing there, due to competition from other tracks such as the EuroSpeedway Lausitz and sites in Asia. The state government of Baden-Württemberg secured the financing for the redesign by Hermann Tilke for the 2002 German Grand Prix. The stadium section remained mostly intact, despite a new surface and a tighter Turn 1 ("Nordkurve"). However, the circuit was dramatically shortened, with the long, forested straights section chopped off in favour of more tight corners. In an extremely controversial move, the old forest section was torn up and replanted with trees, eliminating any chance of using the old course either for future F1 events or for historic car events. There was and still remains a great deal of criticism of the track redesign, in terms of ruining the previous unique technical challenges of the old Hockenheim circuit and delivering a new homogenised "assembly line" circuit without the character of the previous layout, whilst being beset by the perceived problems of other Tilke circuits.

HOCKENHEIM

HOCKENHEIM

HOCKENHEIM - Hockenheimwagen

Hockenheimring Baden-Württemberg is a motor racing circuit situated in the Rhine valley near the town of Hockenheim in Baden-Württemberg, Germany, located on Bertha Benz Memorial Route. Amongst other motor racing events, it biennially hosts the German Grand Prix, with the most recent being in 2014. The circuit has very little change in elevation.
The Hockenheimring was originally built in 1932 using roads in the forest as an alternative to the Wildpark-Circuit in Karlsruhe, which became forbidden as a racing circuit by German officials. The Hockenheimring was used for motorcycle racing and was expanded to be used as test track for Mercedes-Benz and Auto Union in 1936. In 1938 it was renamed the Kurpfalzring and that name was used until 1947. After the war, former DKW and NSU factory rider and world record setter Wilhelm Herz promoted the track successfully. Grand Prix motorcycle racing events were held, with the German motorcycle Grand Prix alternating between Hockenheim and other tracks.
The original circuit was almost eight kilometres long and consisted of two long straights with a long "Eastern" corner in the forest and a U-turn inside Hockenheim joining them together.

HOCKENHEIM

HOHEN NEUENDORF

HOHEN NEUENDORF - Himmelspagode

The “Himmelspagode” is a Chinese restaurant in Hohen Neuendorf, Berlin. It was built in the style of a round Chinese pagoda. The building is a project of the Chinese developer Wengui Ye and architect Christian Roebuck who is living in Hohen Neuendorf.

HOHEN NEUENDORF

HOHENSCHWANGAU

HOHENSCHWANGAU - Schloss Hohenschwangau

Hohenschwangau Castle was built on the remains of the fortress Schuangau, which was first mentioned in historical records dating from the 12th Century. A family of knights was responsible for the construction of the medieval fortress, and it served as the seat of the local government of Schwangau. In 1523, the schloss was described as having walls which were too thin to be useful for defensive purposes. After the demise of the knights in the 16th Century, the fortress changed hands several times. The decay of the fortress continued until it finally fell into ruins at the beginning of the 19th Century. I
n April 1829, Crown Prince Maximilian (the later King Maximilian II of Bavaria) discovered the historic site during a walking tour and reacted enthusiastically to the beauty of the surrounding area. He acquired the ruins - then still known as Schwanstein - in 1832. In February 1833, the reconstruction of the Castle began, continuing until 1837, with additions up to 1855.
Hohenschwangau was the official summer and hunting residence of Maximilian, his wife Marie of Prussia, and their two sons Ludwig (the later King Ludwig II of Bavaria) and Otto (the later King Otto I of Bavaria).

HOHENSCHWANGAU

HOHNSTEIN

HOHNSTEIN - Burg Hohnstein

Hohnstein Castle (German: Burg Hohnstein) is a medieval castle in the village of the same name, Hohnstein in Saxon Switzerland in the Free State of Sachsen in East Germany.
The castle is enthroned on a sandstone rock high above the Polenz valley and is the emblem of the small town. It lies on a hard sandstone slab, 140 metres over the Polenz valley.
Hohnstein Castle was probably built around 1200 or earlier as a Bohemian border fortress for the Margraviate of Meißen to defend it against Saxony.
HOHNSTEIN

HOPFEN AM SEE

HOPFEN AM SEE - Hopfen am See

The first written record of Hopfen am See, then known as de Hophen, dates back to 1172. For centuries, the town was made up of just a few houses; it was only around 100 years ago that it slowly began to expand. It was incorporated into Füssen in 1978.
Today, Hopfen am See is not only known as a Kneipp and health resort but also, and quite rightly, colloquially referred to as the ‘Allgäu Riviera’. This is not least because you can take a Mediterranean-esque stroll along the river promenade with its hotels, restaurants and shops, while enjoying the magnificent views of the lake, the mountains and the royal castles.
Those interested in the history of Hopfen am See should visit the remains of the walls of Hopfen Castle – the oldest stone castle in the Allgäu. The views of the lake and the mountains from the castle ruins are also so spectacular that even those who find history dull will find this a great place to visit.
HOPFEN AM SEE

JUIST

JUIST - Nationalpark Niedersächsisches Wattenmeer

The Lower Saxon Wadden Sea National Park (German: Nationalpark Niedersächsisches Wattenmeer) was established in 1986 and embraces the East Frisian Islands, mudflats and salt marshes between the Bay of Dollart on the border with the Netherlands in the west and Cuxhaven as far as the Outer Elbe shipping channel in the east. The national park has an area of about 345,800 hectares (1,335 sq mi). The National Park organisation is located in Wilhelmshaven. Since June 2009 the Lower Saxon Wadden Sea National Park has become a UNESCO World Heritage Site along with the Schleswig-Holstein Wadden Sea and the Dutch Wadden Sea.

 JUIST

JUIST

JUIST - Wilkommen auf Juist - Seezeichen

Juist is one of the seven inhabited East Frisian Islands in Germany.
Juist rules of the road: no entry except for bicycles and horse-drawn carriages proceeding at walking pace.
Only the fire department, the German Red Cross and doctors have motor vehicles - the police have only 'office bikes'.
The beach and the dunes are eroded by the sea in the western part of Juist. The edge of the dunes moves about five meters to the south each winter. Things like this happen on every East Frisian island - some islands moved so far that the town had to be rebuilt several times. Every island except Juist and Langeoog have big concrete groyne at their western end.

JUIST

KLEVE

KLEVE - Schwanenburg

he Schwanenburg ("Swan's Castle"), with its 55 meters vast tower topped by a golden swan, is the town's landmark of Cleves in Germany. The cities most famous native is Anne of Cleves (1515-1557), the wife of Henry VIII of England.
The original castle was built in the 10th century on top of the hill around which the town later extended. The building was remodelled in a Gothic style in the 15th century, followed by a revamp in Baroque style in the 17th century.
It was the former residence of the Duke of Cleves until the 18th century, when it fell in to use by the local government. In 1917 it served as a prison. Today it is again used for government purposes and the tower houses a museum of geology and the history of Cleve.
The castle is associated with the legend of teh "Knights of the Swan", immortalized in Richard Wagner's Lohengrin.

KLEVE

KLEWITTZ

KLEWITTZ - DTM - Am Lausitzring

DTM – the magical three letters stood for “Deutsche Tourenwagen-Meisterschaft” (German Touring Car Championship) in former times. Today they are the trademark of Europe‘s most popular touring car race series, which began in 1984 with production based cars and peaked in 1996 with a worldwide series for high-tech touring cars.
After a three year break, the DTM celebrated a successful comeback in the year 2000 with a ground breaking concept. Today it is considered as the “Top Class” of touring cars and is one of Europe’s largest sporting events.
The  EuroSpeedway (Lausitzring) is one of the DTM circuits and  is located in Brandenburg’s Lower Lausitz region
KLEWITTZ

KOBLENZ

KOBLENZ - Festung Ehrenbreitstein

Festung Ehrenbreitstein is a fortress on the same-named mountain on the right side of the Rhine opposite to the town of Koblenz in the Rhineland-Palatinate.
Ehrenbreitstein is one of the largest and most impressive of the 19th century fortresses. Although there is nothing left of the original medieval castle with the earliest pentagonal keep on the Rhine, the ground and during the centuries was added to and extended, growing slowly into a massive fortress complex. Time and again, when danger threatened, the fortress served as a sanctuary for troubled rulers or for the holy relics of Treves, including the Holy Coat.
The fortress today is home to the administration offices of the body that looks after the castles and antiquities of the Rhineland Palatinate, as well as the regional museum of Coblence with its collection on the history of technology, a youth hostel, restaurants, and local authority offices.

KOBLENZ

KOBLENZ

KOBLENZ - Deutsches Eck

The city of Koblenz at the confluence of the Mosel and the Rhine, from which it derives its' name - "Confluentes"» Koblenz.
The point where the two rivers meet is known as "Deutsches Eck" - "German Corner". The site is dominated by a giant 14 meters high equestrian sculptural monument of Kaiser Wilhelm I, who ruled in Koblenz as the Prussian Military governor from 1850-1857, and is a local hero.
Erected in 1897, the size of the monument is overwhelming. It was partially destroyed during the bombing in April 1944, but finally reconstructed in 1993. There are stairs leading up to the top of the monument, where you have a great view of the confluence of the 2 rivers.

KOBLENZ

KÖLN

KÖLN - Der Hohe Dom zu Köln

The Cologne Cathedral is one of the best-known architectural monuments in Germany and is Cologne's most famous landmark. Construction of the gothic church began in 1248 and took more than 600 years to complete - it was finally finished in 1880. At its completion, the Cologne cathedral was the world's tallest building, and it still features the largest church facade in the world.
The two towers are 157m tall, the cathedral is 144m long and 86m wide. The cathedral is dedicated to Saints Peter and Mary.
It is possible to climb a spiral staircase to a viewing platform about 98 metres above the ground. This climb covers over 500 steps.
In 1996, the cathedral was added to the UNESCO World Heritage List of culturally important sites.

KÖLN

KÖLN

KÖLN - Eau de Cologne

Eau de Cologne or simply Cologne (German: Kölnisch Wasser, “Water of Cologne”) is a toiletry, a perfume in a style that originated from Cologne, Germany. The original Eau de Cologne is a spirit-citrus perfume launched in Cologne in 1709 by Giovanni Maria Farina (1685–1766), an Italian perfume maker from Santa Maria Maggiore Valle Vigezzo, Italy. In 1708, Farina wrote to his brother Jean Baptiste: "I have found a fragrance that reminds me of an Italian spring morning, of mountain daffodils and orange blossoms after the rain". He named his fragrance Eau de Cologne, in honour of his new hometown.
The Original Eau de Cologne composed by Farina was used only as a perfume and delivered to "nearly all royal houses in Europe".  His ability to produce a constantly homogenous fragrance consisting of dozens of monoessences was seen as a sensation at the time.
At the time, a single vial of this aqua mirabilis cost half the annual salary of a civil servant.  When free trade was established in Cologne by the French in 1797, the success of Eau de Cologne prompted countless other businessmen to sell their own fragrances under the name of Eau de Cologne.

KÖLN

KÖLN

KÖLN - Eau de Cologne 4711

It is told that in 1792 a Carthusian monk presented the young Muelhens couple with a valuable wedding gift. It was a secret formula for the production of an "aqua mirabilis", later called Eau de Cologne. Wilhelm Muelhens soon realised the value of this formula and founded a company for the production of Eau de Cologne at Glockengasse, where the original building can still be found today.
Number 4711 was the house number that was given to the factory at Glockengasse during French occupation of the Rhineland in the early 19th century. The picture of the French military officer, painting the house number 4711 on the facade while sitting on his horse, is a product of advertising. A piece of tapestry which had been ordered and made in the 1920s, served as a model. The scenic version of it spread widely in the 1950s and the 1960s.

KÖLN

KÖLN

KÖLN - Köln Triangle Panorama

This innovative high-rise office block was completed in 2005 and is already regarded as a prominent city landmark on the right bank of the Rhine. The building is over 100 metres high and is located opposite to the Cologne Cathedral, directly on the river bank at Cologne Deutz and in the immediate vicinity of the Koelnmesse exhibition centre. This successful symbiosis of intelligent architecture, easily accessible location, high-tech fittings, state-of-the-art building technology and intelligent services makes the KölnTriangle so unique – see for yourself.
In Cologne people are already talking about the most attractive view of the cathedral. The public panorama platform on the roof of the KölnTriangle offers a breathtaking view of the cathedral city, the Rhine, bridges and the surrounding area.

KÖLN

KÖLN

KÖLN - Kölner Senfmuseum

The history of these Mustard Mills go back to the 18th century. They seem to be the oldest Mustard Mills in Europe. The location of the Mustard Mill in origin is not known. In 1931 the mills were, for the first time, restored in Belgium and they became operative. Afterwards they were sold to Holland, where their operations stopped in 1993. As by chance Mustard Miller Wolfgang Steffens got in possession of these  technical Monuments. They were in very poor conditions and with lots of work and effort, the mills were finally successfully restored.
Nowadays both mills produce fine grinded Mustard, going out from the original secret recipes.
Now, a museum is dedicated to this Cologne specialty!

KÖLN

KÖNIGSTEIN

KÖNIGSTEIN - Festung Königstein

Königstein Fortress (German: Festung Königstein), the "Saxon Bastille", is a hilltop fortress near Dresden, in Saxon Switzerland, Germany, above the town of Königstein on the left bank of the River Elbe. It is one of the largest hilltop fortifications in Europe and sits atop the table hill of the same name. The 9.5 hectare rock plateau rises 240 metres above the Elbe and has over 50 buildings, some over 400 years old, that bear witness to the military and civilian life in the fortress. The rampart run of the fortress is 1,800 metres long with walls up to 42 metres high and steep sandstone faces. In the centre of the site is a 152.5 metre deep well, which is the deepest in Saxony and second deepest well in Europe. The fortress, which for centuries was used as a state prison, is still intact and is now one of Saxony's foremost tourist attractions, with 700,000 visitors per year.

KÖNIGSTEIN

KÖNIGSWINTER

KÖNIGSWINTER - Schloss Drachenburg

The Castle Drachenburg is a romantic castle surrounded by the wonderful nature of the Siebengebirge, which is definitely worth seeing.
Built between 1882 and 1884 by Stephan Sarter, a wealthy stock broker known as the “Baron of Sarter”, the castle is an imposing work of art from the period of promoterism, the architecture and design of which puts visitors into times long past.
The castle was heavily damaged during the 2nd World War and in the post-war period, so that in the 1960s it was empty and about to fall into decay. The "Northrhine-Westfalia Institution for the Maintenance of Nature Protection, Homeland and Culture" has been renovating the castle, which is classified as a historical monument.
A visit to Castle Drachenburg connects the cultural incentives of castle and park, museum and history with the intensive experience of free nature.

KÖNIGSWINTER

KÖNIGSWINTER

KÖNIGSWINTER - Drachenfelsbahn

The Drachenfels (“Dragon's Rock”) is a mountain (321 m) in the Siebengebirge mountain range near Bonn. One German legend recounts, that Siegfried – the hero of the Nibelungenlied – killed a dragon  living in a cave in the mountain. After taking a bath in its blood, he became invulnerable.
The Drachenfels Railway or Drachenfelsbahn runs from Königswinter to the summit of the Drachenfels mountain at an altitude of 289 m.The rack railway is 1.5 km long and manages an elevation gain of 220 m at a maximum gradient of 22%.
The line opened with steam traction, on July 13, 1883 and was converted to electric traction in 1953. With a fresh outfit and a modernized station, the “Bergbahnen im Siebengebirge AG” have been given a new look, and one of the four remaining German cog railways will continue to be in service in the Rhineland.

KÖNIGSWINTER

KONZ

KONZ - Rathaus

The city of Konz couches on the confluence of Saar and Mosel and is the biggest wine producing community in the Mosel Saar Ruwer agricultural area. Konz is an ideal starting point for trips in the at trips at the place where Germany, France and Luxemburg meet.
The town hall on the market place town dates from the 1950's and remembers the baroque atmosphere of the Electorate in its details.

KONZ

KONZ

Konzer Doktor

The 'Konzer Doktor' statue by sculptor Willi Hahn represents the characters from Konz' folk tales, such as the 'Fotschelgeist' or the 'Breesterfrauchen'. The main character in this sandstone sculpture, however, is the historical figure of the local teacher Georg Canaris (1740-1819), whose teaching methods apparently gave the students in Konz such a big lead on those of other villages, so that he earned the nicknames 'Konzer Doktor'.
KONZ

LABOE

LABOE - Marine Ehrenmal

Originally erected as a memorial for the German sailors killed in World War I, it has changed to an
internationally accepted peace monument after World War II. It is maintained by the Deutscher Marinebund, the German Naval Association. The German Naval Association was founded in 1891 during the heydays of the German Imperial Navy as a naval veterans organisation.
 It was fiercly patriotic and thus Germanys defeat in World War I was a strong blow for the German Naval Association.In 1926 Wilhelm Lammertz, a former petty officer in the German Navy and former chairman of the Marine‑Kameradschaft (Naval Club) Duisburg, came up with the idea to erect a memorial for the German sailors killed in the Great War.
His intention was to create a place of commemoration for those German sailors who had lost their life during the First World War and who's place of rest could not be decorated with tombstones and flowers.

LABOE

LABOE

LABOE - Technisches Museum U-995 in Laboe

U995 was laid down as a type VIIc/41 U-boat on 25th November 1942 at Blohm & Voss shipyard in Hamburg, Germany, and was launched on July, 22nd. Despite damage inflicted by an allied bomb raid, the boat was commissioned on September 16th, 1943 with Oberleutnant (Lieutenant Junior Grade) Walter Köhntopp in command.
From September 16th, 1943, to May 31st, 1944, U 995 belonged to the 5th submarine flotilla (5. U-Boot-Flottille) in Kiel, Germany.
After completion of training, U 995 was transferred on June 1st, 1944, as a front boat to the 13th submarine flotilla (13. U-Boot-Flottille) inTrondheim, Norway, to fight the allied convoys, that supplied the Soviet Union with arms, ammunition and other ordnance.
At the time of the German capitulation on May, 8th, 1945, U995 was moored at Trondheim, Norway, to be equipped with a snorkel. The boat was not scuttled or destroyed by the crew, but surrendered to the British and eventually transferred into Norwegian ownership in October 1948.
In December 1952 ex-U 995 was recommissioned by the Norwegian Royal Navy under the new name “Kaura” (NATO-identification number S 309). In 1962 the submarine was finally decommissioned. Instead of being broken up, it was decided by the Norwegian government to give back ex-U995 to the Federal Republic of Germany (Western Germany) as a token of regained friendship after the bitter experience of the German occupation from 1940 to 1945.
In 1965 the submarine was transferred to Kiel, where it was re-named U995 and re-converted to it's war-time appearance and eventually became a museum ship at Laboe in front of the German Naval Memorial in March 1972.

LABOE

LAHNSTEIN

LAHNSTEIN - Burg Lahneck

Burg Lahneck is a 13th century castle on the banks of the Rhine, at Lahnstein near Koblenz.
The castle is well-known by the death of Idilia Dubb in June 1851. In her holidays the 17 year old girl mounted the high tower of castle Lahneck, when suddenly the wooden stairs collapsed behind her. Nobody heard her crying and calling on the point of the tower, because it was surrounded with an insurmountable wall 3 meters high. She was only found after years in 1860, her diary hidden in the walls some weeks later. The last sentences in her diary: All I know is that there is no hope for me. My death is certain. ... Father in heaven, have mercy on my soul (drawn down with two hearts).

LAHNSTEIN

LANGEOOG

LANGEOOG - Inselbahn Langeoog

Cars are not allowed to drive on Langeoog. People on the Island use bikes. The port and the village are linked with a small railway, the so called "Inselbahn" (Island's Rail). The Railway is about 2.4 kilometers long. The harbour of Langeoog is quite big. It was built in World War II by the German Navy. Today the harbour is used by ferries, that connect Langoog with the harbour of Bensersiel on the coast. The Langeoog harbour is also used by sailors, some fishermen and the German Society for Rescuing Ship-Wreckers. There is also a little airfield on Langeoog.

 

LANGEOOG

LANGEOOG

LANGEOOG - Nordinseeinsel Langeoog - Weltnaturerbe Wattenmeer

As one of the most beautiful North Sea Islands, Langeoog has simply everything to offer, which is every holiday maker's dream come true.
Langeoog has a beautiful 14 km long sandy beach and a spectacular dune landscape. The island is known as a North Sea health resort. The sun shines over 1500 hours of the year on Langeoog. Whether light breeze or heavy gale, each cloud is gone as fast as it arrives.
The so called 'island for life' is not only a paradise for families, sportsmen, recovery-seekers and singles, Langeoog is also for the nature-friendly, health-conscious and culture-interested people - simply for everyone.
On the 19 km² large island there are no cars allowed. However, you can discover the island by foot, a bicycle tour or on a guided horse carriage. Enjoy the 14 km long natural beach as you take a leisurely stroll or relax in one of our beach chairs, which you can rent for the day.

LANGEOOG

LEIPZIG

LEIPZIG - Cospudener See - Leipziger Seenland

The Cospudener See (sometimes translated as Lake Cospuden) is a lake situated south of Leipzig. It is on the site of a former open cast mine. The lake has become highly popular with the local population, with long stretches of sand beaches (some clothing-optional, following the East German tradition of public nude bathing) and with a sauna directly located at the lake. There is also a small sailing harbour.
LEIPZIG

LEIPZIG

LEIPZIG - Highlights

Leipzig is the largest city in the federal state of Saxony, Germany. Leipzig, one of Germany's top 10 cities by population, is located about 160 kilometers (99 miles) southwest of Berlin at the confluence of the White Elster, Pleisse, and Parthe rivers at the southern end of the North German Plain.
Leipzig has been a trade city since at least the time of the Holy Roman Empire. The city sits at the intersection of the Via Regia and Via Imperii, two important Medieval trade routes. Leipzig was once one of the major European centers of learning and culture in fields such as music and publishing. Leipzig became a major urban center within the German Democratic Republic (East Germany) after World War II, but its cultural and economic importance declined despite East Germany being the richest economy in the Soviet Bloc.
LEIPZIG

LEIPZIG

LEIPZIG - Palmgartenwehr

The Palm Garden is located about two kilometers west of Leipzig city center in Lindenau. He is in the north of the Jahnallee, the east by the Richard-Wagner-Hain, in the south of the Karl and in the west of the little ones and the Luppe Lützner road. it's now a part of the Clara Zetkin Park.
LEIPZIG

LEIPZIG

LEIPZIG - Weisse Elster

The White Elster (German: Weiße Elster) is a 257-kilometre (160 mi) long river in central Europe, right tributary of the Saale. Its source is in the westernmost part of the Czech Republic, near Aš. After a few kilometres, it flows into eastern Germany. In Germany, it flows through the states of Saxony, Thuringia and Saxony-Anhalt. The White Elster flows through the cities of Plauen, Greiz, Gera, Zeitz, Pegau and Leipzig. It flows into the river Saale in Halle.
LEIPZIG

LICHTENSTEIN/SACHSEN

LICHTENSTEIN/SACHSEN - Miniwelt

Miniwelt (Mini World) is a park in Lichtenstein, Germany where 100 famous buildings and structures from the past 3,500 years are presented in 1:25 scale. The replicas on the grounds include the Pyramid of Giza, the White House, Statue of Liberty, Leaning Tower of Pisa, and Buckingham Palace.
LICHTENSTEIN/SACHSEN

LICHTENSTEIN/SASCHEN

LICHTENSTEIN/SASCHEN - Minicosmos

The planetarium forms part of the "Saxony Miniworld" – a cultural and landscape park with many copies of famous monuments from all continents, scaled down 1:25, including cultural sites, buildings and monuments from all epochs of mankind’s history.
 Equipped with SKYMASTER ZKP 4 and powerdome®SPACEGATE, the planetarium is one of few in Germany to combine optical-mechanical and digital fulldome projection.
LICHTENSTEIN/SASCHEN

LICHTERFELD

LICHTERFELD - Besucherbergwerk F60

The F60 was built by VEB TAKRAF Lauchhammer. It’s contruction started in 1989 and was finished in 1991. This bridge is the last of five bridges built. She was active from March 1991 untill June 1992. The steel structure is also known as "The Lying Eiffel Tower of the Lausitz”. The total length is 502 meters, so it overlooks the Eiffel Tower by 182 meter. With a width of 204 meters and a height of almost 80 meters its huge dimensions are underlined. 11.000 tons of steel is used to built the Besucherbergwerk F60.

LICHTERFELD

LIMBURG

LIMBURG - Dom zu Limburg an der Lahn

The Catholic Cathedral of Limburg, also known as Georgsdom or Limburger Dom in German after its dedication to Saint George, is located above the old town of Limburg in Hesse, Germany. Its high location on a rock above the Lahn provides its visibility from far away. The building is one of the most accomplished buildings of the late Romanesque style.
The first church on the "Limburger Rock" was built in 910 by Konrad Kurzbold. Inside today's cathedral, the outline of the former church still can be found.
The date of placing the foundation stone is unknown. However, investigations of the wood used inside the Dom give information about the period in which it was built. According to estimates, construction began about 1200, maybe as early as 1190. The consecration was in 1235 by Theoderich von Wied, the archbishop of Trier.
The former monastery church of St. Georg was upraised in 1827 to be the Cathedral of the new diocese of Limburg. The first bishop of Limburg was Jakob Brand (1827 to 1833). The diocese has currently about 700,000 Catholics and is one of the younger dioceses. On Friday, February 2, 2007, Pope Benedict XVI accepted the age-related resignation of former Bishop Franz Kamphaus. Franz-Peter Tebartz-van Elst was named new bishop on November 28, 2007, and took office on January 20, 2008.

LIMBURG

LÜBBENAU

LÜBBENAU - Spree Forest harbour

The Spreewald (Spree Forest) is a protected UNESCO biosphere reserve since 1991. It includes low-lying areas in which the river Spree meanders in thousands of small waterways through meadows and forests. It is a beautiful, unique landscape about one hour south of Berlin and well worth a day trip or a weekend trip to relax from the buzzing city life. Besides its beautiful nature, the Spreewald is home to one of the two recognized minorities in Germany, the Sorbs with their unique culture. Many old, traditional farmhouses along the waterways offer beautiful sights.
The main entry points to the Spreewald are Lübben, Lübbenau and Burg (Spreewald).

LÜBBENAU

MAINAU

MAINAU - Insel Mainau

The 45 hectar Mainau Island lies just off the shores of Lake Constance the far south-west of Germany, close to Switzerland and Austria. The over 150 year old Arboretum with giant sequoias welcomes you to relax and enjoy nature seasons. Around a million tulips, rhododendrons, scented roses, perennials and colourful dahlias bloom in the park and gardens. Palms and citrus plants lend a Mediterranean flair to the island in summer. The Teutonic castle completed in 1746 and the castle church St. Marien are architectural highlights of the Baroque era and stand in close proximity to 15 metre tall palm trees. Not only nature and garden lovers and relaxation seekers come to the island but also many families.
MAINAU

MANDERSCHEID

MANDERSCHEID - Manderscheider Burgen

Manderscheid, a charmingly situated village in the Lieser valley, is known for its two castles: Oberburg (the upper castle) and Niederburg (the lower castle).
The Manderscheid family was the most powerful family in the Eifel region of Germany for a considerable period of time in the 15th century, and until today the imposing ruins remind the visitor of the glory of bygone times when the counts of Manderscheid had their residence here.
Niederburg Castle was probably built in the 12th century, shortly after Oberburg Castle had been built. By 1688 at the latest, Niederburg Castle and Oberburg Castle were destroyed. After being in the possession of France and then of Prussia both castles became administered by the Castles Administration of Rhineland-Palatinate. Niederburg Castle was restored in the late 70's and Oberburg Castle in the early 90's.
Niederburg Castle consists of more remnants than Oberburg Castle. It can be seen from far away because of its three-storey keep of the 12th century, having a trapezium shape.

MANDERSCHEID

MANDERSCHEID

MANDERSCHEID - Niederburg

The castle Niederburg is situated a bit outside of Manderscheid, on a rock in the valley.
The castle first was mentioned in the 12th century and today is ruined. Niederburg Castle consists of more remnants than Oberburg Castle. It can be seen from far away because of its three-storey keep of the 12th century, having a trapezium shape. There's still enough left to get a good impression on it's earlier size. There's a tower that you can climb up and from which you have a great view down on the castle, on the Oberburg and the valley.
Each year end of August, there's a Knight's Festival next to the castle and in December, there's a Christmas Market.

MANDERSCHEID

MAYEN

MAYEN - Genovevaburg

The 700-year-old Genoveva castle sits dominantly above the city centre of Mayen, the largest city in the Eifel.
The castle has known a very turbulent history. It was as good as completely burned down during the occupation of the French troops in 1689, after which it was reconstructed in baroque style around 1700. After being hit by bombs during the airstrikeS of 12 December 1944 and 2 January 1945, the castle was again reconstructed. Renovation persisted until 1984.
Since 1989 the castle houses the popular Eifel museum. The Eifel region has since long been a centre for mining and processing of volcanic rock, and a slate mine lies right beneath the Genoveva castle. The history of slate mining in the Eifel region, from its very beginning around 2000 years ago through to the present day, is clearly illustrated in the underground tunnels of the mine.

MAYEN

METTLACH

METTLACH - Burg Montclair

The steep cliffs that rise to the mountain ridge encircled on three sides by the Saar river have been a favourite site for fortresses since the 10th century.
The ruins of the third and last Montclair castle, that you see today, were first built in 1439. It was erected by Arnold of Sierk, a grandson of Johan of Montclair, who was granted the construction permit for a fortified building by his feudal lord Archbishop Raban.
The ruins of this last castle, built in the 15th century, passed over into the property of the administrative district of Merzig-Wadern in 1991. During the years 1992/93, the local government restored the ruins thoroughly and opened the complex to the public again. The castle cellar holds a museum that leads you through the history of Montclair and its two preceding fortresses.

METTLACH

MORITZBURG

MORITZBURG - Achenbrödel - Cinderella

Moritzburg Castle has become more and more known as film set for the German-Czech fairytale "Three Hazelnuts for Cinderella".
Since wintertime 2011/2012 there is a special exhibition which makes it possible for visitors to immerse into Cinderella's world at Moritzburg Castle.
MORITZBURG

MORITZBURG

MORITZBURG - Schloss Moritzburg

Moritzburg Castle (German: Schloss Moritzburg) is a Baroque palace in Moritzburg, in the German state of Saxony, about 13 kilometres northwest of the Saxon capital, Dresden. The castle has four round towers and lies on a symmetrical artificial island. It is named after Duke Moritz of Saxony, who had a hunting lodge built there between 1542 and 1546. The surrounding woodlands and lakes have been a favourite hunting area of the electors and kings of Saxony.
MORITZBURG

NEUMAGEN-DHRON

NEUMAGEN-DHRON - Weinschiff

The quiet little wine-town Neumagen-Dhron is a close-knit community with a real “village feel” and a friendly atmosphere that puts the visitor completely at ease. It claims to be the oldest wine village in Germany – and can prove it with the third-century stone carving of a wine-ship.
The Neumagen Wineship dating from 205 A.D. was discovered, along with other Roman remains, in the village at the end of the 19th century. The sculpture is considered to be a part of a grave monument erected to the memory of a wealthy Roman wine trader and it bears witness to nearly 1800 years of wine making in this area.
The original sculpture can be found in the State Museum in Trier.

NEUMAGEN-DHRON

NEUSCHWANSTEIN

NEUSCHWANSTEIN - Schloss Neuschwanstein

Neuschwanstein Castle in the Bavarian Alps of Germany is the most famous palace built for Louis II of Bavaria, sometimes referred to as Mad King Ludwig, who grew up nearby at Hohenschwangau Castle.
Begun in 1869 and left unfinished at Louis's death in 1886, the castle is the embodiment of 19th century romanticism. In a fantastical imitation of a medieval castle, Neuschwanstein is set with towers and spires and is spectacularly sited on a high point over the Pöllat River gorge.
The construction of the castle was carried out according to a well thought-out plan. The castle was equipped with all kinds of technical conveniences which were very modern, if not to say revolutionary at that time. Running water on all floors. The spring which supplied the castle with excellent drinking water was located 200 meters above the castle. There was a hot water system for the kitchen and the bath and even toilets equipped with automatic flushing on every floor. The castle was also equipped with a warm air heating system for the entire building.
Neuschwanstein served as the inspiration for the Sleeping Beauty Castle at Disneyland and appears prominently in several films, including The Great Escape, Chitty Chitty Bang Bang, The Timekeeper, Ludwig, and Spaceballs. Neuschwanstein Castle is a finalist for the New Seven Wonders of the World, along with 20 other would-be wonders.

NEUSCHWANSTEIN

NEUSTADT AN DER WEINSTRAßE

NEUSTADT AN DER WEINSTRAßE - Hambacher Schloss

Hambach Castle is located on the mountain Schlossberg in Neustadt an der Weinstraße . There is little known about its early history; the big estate was said to be one of the most important facilities of the Bishopric of Speyer in the late Middle Ages.
Hambach Castle is considered to be the symbol of the German democracy movement because of the Hambacher Fest which occurred here in 1832.
This was a German national democratic meeting where 30,000 participants from all ranks of society stood up for liberty, civil rights and national unity. The event had no immediate results, but is nevertheless considered to be a milestone in German history.
Today the national memorial is a museum and convention centre in which events of the federal state Rhineland-Palatinate, the District Bad Dürkheim and the city Neustadt an der Weinstraße take place all year round.

NEUSTADT AN DER WEINSTRAßE

NEUSTADT AN DER WEINSTRAßE

NEUSTADT AN DER WEINSTRAßE - Stiftskirche

The city of Neustadt an der Weinstraße in Rhineland-Palatinate has a beautiful old town centre with a market square surrounded by many half-timbered houses.
Neustadt’s most famous landmark is the imposing twin-towered Stiftskirche that towers over the city and the surrounding vineyards.
This gothic building is a so-called 'Double Church', a church with two separated spaces for different beliefs. Most Double Churches were built in the 11th and 12th century in Germany after the Reformation. In 1714, due to continuous friction between Catholics and Protestants, a separation wall was built inside the church. The wall still stands today.
The Stiftskirche possesses one of the largest cast steel bells in the world: the 'Imperial Bell' with a diameter of 3,21m and a weight of 4000kg. Not to forget the 800 kg clapper.

NEUSTADT AN DER WEINSTRAßE

NIEDERFINOW

NIEDERFINOW - Gasthof Zum Barnimer Holzmilch

The Niederfinow boat lift is the oldest working boat lift in Germany. It lies on the Oder-Havel-Kanal near Niederfinow in Brandenburg. The lift overcomes a difference in elevation of 36 metres.
On 17 June 1914 the large navigation between Berlin and Stettin was opened. Near Niederfinow the difference in elevation was overcome using a staircase lock with four chambers. One can still visit the remains of these locks today.
The capacity of the staircase locks was quickly exceeded, therefore, between 1927 and 1934 the boat lift was built and inaugurated on 21 March 1934. The lift is 60 m high, the length 94 m, taking five minutes for the trough to move through the 36m elevation difference.
The Niederfinow lift is a popular tourist destination with about 500,000 visitors per year.

NIEDERFINOW

NIEDERFINOW

NIEDERFINOW - Schiffshebewerk

The Niederfinow boat lift is the oldest working boat lift in Germany. It lies on the Oder-Havel-Kanal near Niederfinow in Brandenburg. The lift overcomes a difference in elevation of 36 metres.
On 17 June 1914 the large navigation between Berlin and Stettin was opened. Near Niederfinow the difference in elevation was overcome using a staircase lock with four chambers. One can still visit the remains of these locks today.
The capacity of the staircase locks was quickly exceeded, therefore, between 1927 and 1934 the boat lift was built and inaugurated on 21 March 1934. The lift is 60 m high, the length 94 m, taking five minutes for the trough to move through the 36m elevation difference.
The Niederfinow lift is a popular tourist destination with about 500,000 visitors per year.

NIEDERFINOW

NORDERNEY

NORDERNEY - Alter Leuchtturm - Norderney

The old lighthouse of Norderney  is located in the middle of the east frisian Island Norderney on a 10 m high dune. The lighthouse was built in 1874. It’s tower height measures 54,60m and it is the island’s highest building. The lighthouse is seen as an important point of reference fot the navigation in the area.

NORDERNEY

NORDERNEY

NORDERNEY - Nationalpark Wattemeer

Norderney is one of the seven populated East Frisian Islands off the North Sea coast of Germany. It is also a municipality in the district of Aurich in Lower Saxony.
The island is 14 km long and about 2.5 km wide, having a total area of about 26.3 square kilometres (10.2 sq mi) and is therefore Germany's tenth largest island. Norderney's population amounts to about 6,200 people. In 1946 Norderney gained municipal status and belongs to the Aurich "Kreis" (county). On the northern side of the island lies a 14 km long sandy beach.
The entire eastern half of Norderney belongs to the Wattenmeer National Park of Lower Saxony. Access to the park is restricted, as it is subdivided in zones of different accessibility for the protection of the wildlife. The status as a National Park also affects all kinds of traffic on the island, while especially car traffic is subject to strict regulations.

NORDERNEY

NORDHOLZ

NORDHOLZ - Museum Aeronauticum Nordholz - Marineflieger Breguet Atlantic

The Breguet Br.1150 Atlantic is a long-range maritime patrol aircraft designed and manufactured by Breguet Aviation. Introduced to service in 1965, it has been operated by several NATO countries, commonly performing maritime roles such as reconnaissance and anti-submarine warfare. The Atlantic is also capable of carrying air-to-ground missiles, and some German Navy aircraft were also equipped to perform ELINT duties. An updated version, the Atlantique 2 or ATL2, was produced by Dassault Aviation for the French Navy in the 1980s.

 

NORDHOLZ

NORDHOLZ

NORDHOLZ - Museum Aeronauticum Nordholz - The Fairey Gannet

The Aeronauticum is the official German maritime aircraft museum - located in Nordholz (close to Cuxhaven). The museum has a large collection of aircraft that has been used by the German Marine/Navy. The name of the museum derives from the English word Aeronautics. On a 36.000 m² surface, there are 15 aircrafts to be seen that were used during WWII. In the museum itself, the historical and tecnical developmente of the maritime aircraft is explained.
The Fairey Gannet was a British carrier-borne aircraft of the post-Second World War era developed for the Royal Navy's Fleet Air Arm (FAA) by the Fairey Aviation Company. It was a mid-wing monoplane with a tricycle undercarriage and a crew of three, and a double turboprop engine driving two contra-rotating propellers.
The Gannet was originally developed to meet the FAA's dual-role anti-submarine warfare and strike requirement.[2] It was later adapted for operations as an electronic countermeasures and carrier onboard delivery aircraft. The Gannet AEW was a variant of the aircraft developed as a carrier-based airborne early warning platform.

NORDHOLZ

NORDRHEIN-WESTFAHLEN

NORDRHEIN-WESTFAHLEN - Naturpark Teutoburger Wald - Externsteine # 2

The Externsteine are a distinctive rock formation located in North Rhine Westphalia (Germany) in the Southern part of the Teutoburg Forest. The formation is a tor consisting of several tall, narrow columns of rock which rise abruptly from the surrounding wooded hills and are a natural outcropping of five sandstone pillars. All pillars have been modified and decorated by humans over the centuries and were a centre of religious activity for the Teutonic peoples and their predecessors prior to the arrival of Christianity in northern Europe. At the top of the tallest stone is a chamber, formerly used for sacrifices and the little decoration remains apart from one wall with a circular hole cut into it. Early studies have shown that this is some form of calendar. On the exact day each year when summer turns to winter, the sun shines exactly onto this hole. Today, the Externsteine are one of the most frequently visited nature reserves in Westphalia.

 

NORDRHEIN-WESTFAHLEN

NORDRHEIN-WESTFALEN

NORDRHEIN-WESTFALEN - Naturpark Teutoburger Wald Externsteine # 1

The Externsteine are a distinctive rock formation located in North Rhine Westphalia (Germany) in the Southern part of the Teutoburg Forest. The formation is a tor consisting of several tall, narrow columns of rock which rise abruptly from the surrounding wooded hills and are a natural outcropping of five sandstone pillars.
All pillars have been modified and decorated by humans over the centuries and were a centre of religious activity for the Teutonic peoples and their predecessors prior to the arrival of Christianity in northern Europe. At the top of the tallest stone is a chamber, formerly used for sacrifices and the little decoration remains apart from one wall with a circular hole cut into it. Early studies have shown that this is some form of calendar. On the exact day each year when summer turns to winter, the sun shines exactly onto this hole.
Today, the Externsteine are one of the most frequently visited nature reserves in Westphalia.

NORDRHEIN-WESTFALEN

NÜRBURG

NÜRBURG - Neue Nürburgring 2009

The “Nürburgring 2009” project was an ambitious project in which the famous race track was transformed into a year-round business and leisure centre.  The Nürburgring is now equipped with a high-performance, fail-safe network that fulfils the technical requirements of all the individual systems and operators, as well as the entire campus.
As a race track, the Nürburgring is a living legend and is reverently called "Green Hell" by its fans. Today the ring is one of the most traditional and at the same time innovative motor sports tracks in the world. And one of Germany's most popular national monuments. Every year around two million visitors watch around 100 races and 200 other events here, such as Formula 1, DTM, the 24-hour race, Rock am Ring and truck and vintage car races.

NÜRBURG

NÜRBURG

NÜRBURG - Nürburgring - volles programm

The Nürburgring is currently being expanded into a year-round leisure and business centre in order to provide visitors with better service, more offers and even more possibilities when it comes to motor sport. When you arrive you will be welcomed into the new welcome center.From there you move on to the ring boulevard - an adventure world of brands from leading car manufacturers and accessories specialists. In addition, the new ringwerk has created an indoor theme park - a science centre, a museum and an adventure world rolled into one - all about the Nürburgring and motor sport in general.

NÜRBURG

NÜRBURG

NÜRBURG - Nürburgring Grüne Hölle

Nürburgring is a 150,000-capacity motorsports complex around the village of Nürburg, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany. It is located about 70 km (43 mi) south of Cologne, and 120 km (75 mi) northwest of Frankfurt. It features a Grand Prix race track built in 1984, and a much longer old "North loop" track which was built in the 1920s around the village and medieval castle of Nürburg in the Eifel mountains. The north loop is 20.8 km (12.9 mi) long and has more than 300 metres (1,000 feet) of elevation change from its lowest to highest points. Jackie Stewart nicknamed the old track "The Green Hell," and it is widely considered to be the most demanding and difficult purpose-built racing circuit in the world.
NÜRBURG

NÜRBURG

NÜRBURG - Nürburgring Nordschleife

The Nürburgring known as simply "the Ring" by motorsports enthusiasts, is a famous race track in Germany.
It features several track configurations. Only the shorter, modern 1980s version called "GP-Strecke" is currently used by major and international racing events. Michael Schumacher set the lap record on this 5.148 kilometres long track at 1'29.468 (Ferrari, 2004).
However, the older, much longer version of the Ring called the Nordschleife ("Northern Loop"), built in the 1920s around the village and medieval castle of Nürburg in the Eifel mountains, is still in use; nicknamed "The Green Hell" (Grüne Hölle) by Jackie Stewart, it is widely considered the toughest and most demanding purpose-built race track in the world.
Because of its demanding layout, the Nordschleife is used by many auto manufacturers as a proving ground for car prototypes. Some of the most notable corporate "Ring Rats" are BMW, Porsche, Mercedes-Benz, Audi, Nissan, Lexus and General Motors.

NÜRBURG

OELSNITZ/VOGTL

OELSNITZ/VOGTL - Schloss Voigtsberg

Most people who come to Oelsnitz come to see Schloss Voigtsberg, a most formidable castle that sits high on the mountainside. The oldest part of the Schloss is its donjon, or tower, that was built around the 1230’s; making it almost 800 years old. The castle has a museum. 
The Oelsnitz Carpet Museum at Voigtsberg Castle is dedicated to this frequently "trampled-on” textile. Tied to the  130-year history of local machine and industrial carpet weaving, it provides information about the various carpet manufacturing techniques and shows, among other things, the variety of design on a "Road of the Best”. 
The castle’s actual treasury, however, is to be found in the historical vaults. It is there where the "Oelsnitz Minerals Vault” displays a gorgeous collection of 400 minerals typically occurring in the Saxon Vogtland region.
OELSNITZ/VOGTL

ORANIENBURG

ORANIENBURG - Schlosspark Oranienburg

The estate was a gift from the Great Elector to his wife Louise Henriette, Princess of Orange-Nassau. The palace was named "Oranienburg" in her honor as early as 1652, and a year later the village of Bötzow, where the estate was located, also took on this name.
An existing hunting lodge was converted and expanded into the palace from 1651-55 by the architect Johann Gregor Memhardt.
From 1689-1711, the Elector Frederick III (later King Frederick I) had his mother's former country estate enlarged. Under the direction of Johann Arnold Nering and Johann Friedrich Eosander, one of the most significant Baroque palaces, gardens and city complexes in the Brandenburg Marches was created.
Today the palace belongs to the city of Oranienburg. Since 2001, the palace museum has exhibited works of art mainly by Dutch artists. The Porcelain Chamber is the highlight of the royal apartment. At one time nearly 5000 pieces of porcelain were displayed here. Today, one of the étagère that was created for this room around 1695 is set with East Asian porcelain from the 17th and 18th centuries and provides a glimpse of the former splendor.

ORANIENBURG

ORANIENBURG

ORANIENBURG - Schlosspark Oranienburg - Louise Henrietta of Nassau

Louise Henrietta of Nassau (7 December 1627 – 18 June 1667) was a Countess of Nassau, granddaughter of William I, Prince of Orange, "William the Silent", and an Electress of Brandenburg
Louise Henriëtte was born in The Hague, the eldest daughter of Frederick Henry, Prince of Orange, and Amalia of Solms-Braunfels. She grew up at the court of her father, the Stadtholder of Holland, Zeeland, Utrecht, Guelders and Overijssel.
Luise Henriette got a new castle in Dutch style built in Bötzow in 1650-52 and called it Oranienburg, which became the name for the entire town in 1653. She was also involved in the design and development of the Lustgarten in Berlin. In 1663, she installed the first porcelain cabinet in Europe. In 1665, she founded an orphanage with places for 24 children. She was described as truly kind and gentle with a sharp intellect: her advice was vital for her spouse, and their marriage was considered a role model.

ORANIENBURG

OSCHERSLEBEN

OSCHERSLEBEN - Motorsport Arena Oschersleben

The track measures a total length of 3.696 kilometres (A course) and 11 to 14 metres width. As an additional feature, it can be split into two sections of 2.435 kilometres (B course) and 1.155 kilometres (C course) length, making two separate events at a time possible. The track differs in height by 23 metres. Material and drivers have to master 14 bends. The fastest section is located at the end of the starting/finishing straight.
The Motorsport Arena Oschersleben did not get its arena title by chance. The arena character, highly appreciated by all visitors, is unique amongst German race tracks. All spectator stands are located 6-8 metres above the track. This situation allows guests to be up close to the track and the motorsport experience. Especially in the north-west area of the premises, the arena character creates a unique atmosphere. Many parts of the track can be seen from here and the thrill and enthusiasm is transferred from drivers to spectators.
OSCHERSLEBEN

OSTE

OSTE - Schwebefähre

Osten Transporter Bridge is an 80 metre long transporter bridge over the Oste River in Oste, Lower Saxony, Germany. It was built in 1908-9 and was in regular use until 1974 and is now only used as tourist attraction.

OSTE

PFALZ

PFALZ - Detective, Agenten & Spione

From autumn 2015, the Historical Museum of the Palatinate will be showing the great hands-on exhibition "Detectives, Agents & Spies". What exactly makes a good investigator? In an adventurous course all the young sleuths undergo a "Detective and Agent Training" and get to know the various methods and procedures of agents and detectives. Swift deduction skills, precise observation, disguise and physical fitness are required - for they have to solve a case of their own!
In addition, over an area of 1,500 m², the exhibition explains to visitors of all ages what a secret service actually is, what its aims are and how it is organised.
PFALZ

POTSDAM

POTSDAM - Filmpark Babelsberg # 1

The Studio Babelsberg, located in Potsdam-Babelsberg, Germany, is the oldest large-scale film studio in the world. Founded in 1912, it covers an area of about 270,000 square feet (25,000 m2).
Today, Studio Babelsberg remains operational mainly for feature film productions. Furthermore, it acts as co-producer on international high budget productions.
From the movie's release in 1953 to the fall of the GDR in East Germany, Kleinen Muck remained the number one selling film of the Ministry of Foreign Trade. It attracted 12,998,153 viewers in the country alone.

POTSDAM

POTSDAM

POTSDAM - Filmpark Babelsberg # 2

Located just outside Berlin, the Filmpark Babelsberg will sweep you away to the world of film and television. Visitors can explore everything related to the film industry: sets, props, costumes and technical equipment of yesterday and today. Babelsberg is still a working studio and you can get an exclusive insight behind the scenes of film making. Set painters and carpenters, costume designers and make-up artists show how they create the perfect illusions. You will experience the tricks used by film and television professionals as you explore the many sets and exhibitions or during a tour of the original outdoor set for popular soap opera Gute Zeiten, schlechte Zeiten.

POTSDAM

POTSDAM

POTSDAM - Filmpark Babelsberg - The Story of Little Muck Set

The Studio Babelsberg, located in Potsdam-Babelsberg, Germany, is the oldest large-scale film studio in the world. Founded in 1912, it covers an area of about 270,000 square feet (25,000 m2).
Today, Studio Babelsberg remains operational mainly for feature film productions. Furthermore, it acts as co-producer on international high budget productions.
From the movie's release in 1953 to the fall of the GDR in East Germany, Kleinen Muck remained the number one selling film of the Ministry of Foreign Trade. It attracted 12,998,153 viewers in the country alone.
Director Wolfgang Staudte was originally slotted to work on the film Mutter Courage und ihre Kinder, but due to disagreements, he never started work on the project and took up Kleinen Muck as an interim project.

POTSDAM

POTSDAM

POTSDAM - Schloss Sanssouci

Sanssouci is the former summer palace of Frederick the Great, King of Prussia, in Potsdam, near Berlin. It is often counted among the German rivals of Versailles. While Sanssouci is in the more intimate Rococo style and is far smaller than its French Baroque counterpart, it too is notable for the numerous temples and follies in the park. The palace was designed by Georg Wenzeslaus von Knobelsdorff between 1745 and 1747 to fulfil King Frederick's need for a private residence where he could relax away from the pomp and ceremony of the Berlin court. This is emphasised by the palace's name: a French phrase (sans souci) which translates loosely as "without worries" or "carefree" symbolising that the palace was a place for relaxation rather than a seat of power. Because of a disagreement about the site of the palace in the park, Knobelsdorff was fired in 1746. Jan Bouman, a Dutch architect, finished the project.
During the 19th century, the palace became a residence of Frederick William IV. He employed the architect Ludwig Persius to restore and enlarge the palace, while Ferdinand von Arnim was charged with improving the grounds and thus the view from the palace. The town of Potsdam, with its palaces, was a favourite place of residence for the German imperial family until the fall of the Hohenzollern dynasty in 1918.

POTSDAM

PRENZLAU

PRENZLAU - Strandcafe Balu

A trendy beach bar with a Beach lounge and a Relaxation area with hammocks and bamboo chairs. There is also a Beach play area for children

PRENZLAU

PRENZLAU

PRENZLAU - The Nature Experience Park

Covering an area of 12.5 hectares, the Nature Experience Uckermark offers a successful combination of nature, wildlife, adventure and fun for the whole family. Behind every corner there is something new to discover. The tortuous paths which are lined with lovingly arranged design elements, lead past scented gardens, senses trail and native wild plants. Various viewpoints give a clear view of the hustle and bustle of countless waterflow at idyllic Scharfrichtersee. Very special attraction for the little ones are the Pet Park, the petting zoo and thrilling adventure playgrounds.
PRENZLAU

RABEN

RABEN - Burg Rabenstein

In the hills of the Hohen Flämings, you can discover medieval castles. In 2001 Burg Rabenstein celebrated a 750 jubileum. Burg Rabenstein, at 153 m high "Steilen Hagen" located at Rabe, is part of the nature park Hoher Fläming. 
RABEN

RASDORF/GEISA

RASDORF/GEISA Gedenkstätte Point Alfa

Observation Post Alpha, OP Alpha or Point Alpha was a Cold War observation post between Rasdorf, Hesse, in what was then West Germany and Geisa, Thuringia, then part of East Germany. The post overlooked part of the "Fulda Gap", which would have been a prime invasion route for Warsaw Pact forces had the Cold War erupted into actual warfare. It was abandoned by the military in 1991. Today, the "Point Alpha" memorial commemorates its forty-year existence, and was dedicated to keep it and a section of inner German border as reminders of the division of Germany and the confrontation between NATO and Warsaw Pact in the Cold War.

RASDORF/GEISA

REINHARDSWALD

REINHARDSWALD - Dornröschenschloss Sababurg

Sababurg fairytale castle of Brothers Grimm's Sleeping Beauty was founded in 1334 by the Archbishop of Mainz under the name of Zappenborgk to protect the pilgrims on their way to the nearby holy site of Gottsbüren. There, in the heart of Reinhardswald Forest, the Landgraves of Hesse erected a splendid hunting seat on the foundation walls of the original structure in 1490.
In the early 19th century, the castle was abandoned as a residence. The building complex rapidly fell into disrepair, converting to a wild romantic state. Already in the 19th century after the publication of the Brothers Grimm's Fairy Tales, people imagined this to be the place where the Sleeping Beauty tale must have happened:
The ‘sleeping' castle, entwined with ivy and deeply hidden in the Reinhardswald Forest, surrounded by a high wall that wassaid to have been the impenetrable thorn hedge...
Around 100 years later, the long sleep was over and the castle was kissed awake and restored for visitors.

REINHARDSWALD

ROSENHEIM

ROSENHEIM - LOKSCHUPPEN EXHIBITION CENTER - Regenwald

It is one of the most important ecosystems on earth. Although it only covers 7 percent of the world's ice-free land mass, it is home to up to 90 percent of all known zoological and botanical species. The RAINFOREST fascinates people, is home to myths and discoveries of scientists from all over the world.
The Lokschuppen exhibition center in Rosenheim brings the RAINFOREST to Upper Bavaria in a one of a kind, scientifically grounded interactive exhibition. In the "RAINFOREST” exhibition leading scientists combine for the first time their knowledge in the fields of ethnology, ecology, biology, zoology, botany, geology, forestry, remote sensing, climatology and medicine to create an exceptional representation. "RAINFOREST” is an exhibition from the Veranstaltungs + Kongress GmbH Rosenheim in cooperation with the Bavarian Natural History Collections and the Five Continents Museum in Munich and runs from March 20th through November 29th, 2015.
ROSENHEIM

ROSENHEIM

ROSENHEIM -EXHIBITION CENTER - Dinosaurs - Giants of Argentina

They are creatures of superlatives: the longest one measured nearly 40 meters, the oldest one lived 235 million years ago.
The Lokschuppen exhibition center in Rosenheim presents world-wide for the first time spectacular finds in its new exhibition "Dinosaurs - Giants of Argentina" and takes the visitors on a time travel into geologic history. Suitably in the year of the 200th birthday of Charles Darwin, the creator of the theory of evolution.
Singular finds from the scientific collections of 7 Argentinian museums permit an almost complete representation of the history of the dinosaurs, with nearly complete fossils and lifelike reconstructions of what these impressive creatures and their habitat must have looked like millions of years ago.

ROSENHEIM

ROTHENBURG OB DER TAUBER

ROTHENBURG OB DER TAUBER - Old City

Rothenburg ob der Tauber (German pronunciation: [ˈʁo¢°tənbʊɐ̯k ɔp de¢°ɐ̯ ˈtaʊbɐ] ( listen)) is a town in the district of Ansbach of Mittelfranken (Middle Franconia), the Franconia region of Bavaria, Germany. It is well known for its well-preserved medieval old town, a destination for tourists from around the world. It is part of the popular Romantic Road through southern Germany.
Rothenburg was a Free Imperial City from the late Middle Ages to 1803.
ROTHENBURG OB DER TAUBER

RÜDESHEIM

RÜDESHEIM - Drosselgasse

Rüdesheim’s Drosselgasse has a long tradition. It first appears in the records in the 15th century. At that time the area was where the Rhine boatmen found board and lodgings. In the 18th and 19th centuries, inns and later seasonal wine taverns also moved into the area, drawing well-to-do citizens into Drosselgasse with them.
The Drosselgasse is the epicentre of Rudesheim's old town, full of beautifully decorated restaurants. Live band entertainment brass instrument and dance music play all day and all night during the summer in the many wine houses and open-air garden taverns along the 144 meter long narrow cobblestone pedestrian street.
Since it is Rüdesheim's most famous attraction it is almost always crowded with tourists.

RÜDESHEIM

RÜDESHEIM

RÜDESHEIM - Niederwalddenkmal

The Niederwald Monument was built in the years from 1877 to 1883. The 38 m high monument was meant to commemorate the Franco-German War of 1870-1871 and the re-establishment of the German Empire.
It is located above the city of Rüdesheim in the federal state of Hessen and can be regarded as the landmark of the region. The 32 meters tall statue can be seen from quite a distance.
Each year thousands of tourists as well as locals pilgrimage to the Germania in order to commemorate the victims of the Thirty Years’ War.
The central figure of the monument is the 10.5 meters high and 32 tons heavy “Germania”. In her right hand she is proudly holding the recovered crown of the emperor, with her left she leans self-confidentially on the sword of the empire.

RÜDESHEIM

SAARBURG

SAARBURG - Saarburg

The lively history of the city of Saarburg and its castle began in 964 A.D. with the purchase of mount "Churbelun" by Count Siegfried von Luxemburg.
Of all the german castles built upon hills, the Saarburg is one of the oldest and loveliest. Its circular fortification, 137 meters long and up to 50 meters wide, was surrounded by 8-meter high walls. Because of its excellent topographical location - on a hilltop, surrounded by a river and ponds - not many invaders were successful in conquoring the Saarburg. The fortress offers a wonderful view of the city and of the Saar River Valley.

SAARBURG

SAARBURG

SAARBURG - Saarburg waterfall

The city of Saarburg, known for its Medieval character, its bell foundry and its wine, is situated in the hilly landscape of the Saar River Valley. Its natural and historical attractions impress many guests year after year.
The waterfall on the Leukbach is the main attraction of the town today. The Leukbach flows through the middle of the city and plunges over a 20-meter cliff before it empties into the Saar River.

SAARBURG

SAARLAND

SAARLAND - Saarschleife

Saarland is one of the 16 states of Germany, named after the Saar River which runs through the state from the south to the northwest.
Forest-lovers don't have far to go in the Saarland - one third of the land area of the Saarland is covered by forest, one of highest percentages in Germany.
Saarschleife is a quite remarkable place along the rivers course. Here, the Saar gradually carved its way through the mountains throughout the ages, creating a loop of 180 degrees. The forest trails on the surrounding hills provide a fantastic, breathtaking panorama of the "Saarschleife" horseshoe bend.

SAARLAND

SABABURG

SABABURG - Tierpark Sababurg

Sababurg Zoo (Tierpark Sababurg) is one of Europe's oldest and largest wildlife parks.The history of the Tierpark in Sababurg goes back to 1571. Set on 130 hectares (321 acres) of lush countryside, the park features dozens of animal exhibits and leisure areas, all boasting views of the hilltop Sababurg Castle. Spend time getting to know your favorite farm animals at the petting zoo, or watch the falcons being fed at an exciting bird-of-prey show. Don't miss a visit to the park's natural history museum to learn more about the history and animals of the Reinhard forest.

SABABURG

SANKT PETER ORDING

SANKT PETER ORDING - Wilkommen in St. Peter Ording

Sankt Peter-Ording is a popular German seaside spa and a municipality in the district of Nordfriesland, in Schleswig-Holstein, Germany. It is the only German seaside resort that has a sulphur spring and thus terms itself "North Sea spa and sulphur spring". By overnight stays, St. Peter-Ording is the largest seaside resort and has the most overnight stays in the state of Schleswig-Holstein.
SANKT PETER ORDING

SANKT PETER-ORDING

SANKT PETER-ORDING - Nordseeheilbad St. Peter Ording

St. Peter-Ording is situated on the North Sea coast, on the western tip of the Eiderstedt peninsula, approx. 45 km southwest of Husum. Part of the municipality lies in the Schleswig-Holstein Wadden Sea National Park. Its characteristics include a beach that is approximately 12 kilometers long and up to one kilometre wide, the dunes, the salt meadows and the cultivated forested areas, atypical for this region. The salt meadows are of special ecological importance, since they belong to the few salt meadows that remain in their natural state. In contrast to other salt meadows along the North Sea they contain numerous ponds and puddles. The landward side is flooded with sea water only occasionally and not every year, so that amphibians such as grass frogs, moor frogs and toads (Bufo bufo) live uncharacteristically close to the seashore.

SANKT PETER-ORDING

SAYN

SAYN - Schloss Sayn

This former mansion of the Herren von Reiffenberg dates back to the middle ages. In 1848 Prince Ludwig Adolph Friedrich von Sayn-Wittgenstein-Berleburg purchased the manor and had it turned into a neo-gothic palace by François Joseph Girard, who later was to become the main architect at the Louvre in Paris.
The palace, almost completely destroyed near the end of World War II, was completely restored in different phases. Since the completion of the construction works in summer 2000, the exterior of the palace resembles the original neo-gothic appearance.
Together with the castle hill and the park the neo-gothic Schloss Sayn is the centerpiece of a romantic ideal landscape. A museum has been created inside the castle, while the surrounding park draws its special charm from a multitude of rare trees, the lake with its fountain, an artistic grotto, the ruin of a baroque pavillion, a Virgin Mary-chapel and the creeks Sayn and Brex, which surround the area.
Main attraction in this park today is the Garden of the living Butterflies, where visitors can take a journey into a little tropic paradise with colourful flourish of exotic butterflies.

SAYN

SCHARFENSTEIN

SCHARFENSTEIN - Karl Stülpner

Karl Stuelpner , actually Carl Heinrich Stilpner, was an Ore Mountain soldier , poacher , smuggler , producer and live artist. Novels, plays and folk tales have contributed to an extensive legends and led to Stuelpner today sometimes called " Saxon Robin Hood".

SCHARFENSTEIN

SCHARNEBECK

SCHARNEBECK - 35 Jahre Schiffshebewerk

The Scharnebeck twin ship lift is on the Elbe-Seitenkanal, which connects the Elbe (at Artlenburg) and the Mittellandkanal (near Wolfsburg).
The boat lift was built in Scharnebeck to the North-east of Lüneburg in 1974 and was at that time the largest ship lift in the world. The first ship passed through the lift on 1975-12-05.
There is a museum at the site which can be visited by walkers.

SCHARNEBECK

RÜDESHEIM

Seilbahn Rüdesheim

In order to do justice to the numerous visitors who wanted to see the Niederwalddenkmal in Rüdesheim, a rack railway was built in 1884. This was the forerunner of today's cable-car, which transported the visitors through the vineyards to the monument.

The rack railway was replaced by the cable-car in 1954. Since then, more than 20 million people from all over the world have glided in 2-person cars over the vines on their way to the Niederwald Monument.

Cable Car Fact Sheet
- "Einseil-Umlaufbahn"
- 100 halfclosed cabs
- Difference in height 203 m
- Distance covered length 1400 m
- Travel time 10 minutes
- 600 persons in each direction per hour

RÜDESHEIM

SPREEWALD

SPREEWALD - Spreewald

The Spreewald is situated 100 km south-east of Berlin and designated a biosphere reserve by UNESCO in 1991. It is known for its traditional irrigation system which consists of more than 200 small channels  within the 484-square-kilometre area. The landscape was shaped during the ice-age. Alder forests on wetlands and pine forests on sandy dry areas are characteristic for the region, however, also grasslands and fields can be found.
As of 1998 about 50,000 people live in the biosphere reserve. Many of them are descendants of the first settlers in the Spreewald region, the Slavic tribes of the Sorbs/Wends. Until today, they have preserved their traditional language, customs and clothing.

SPREEWALD

ST. GOAR

ST. GOAR - Schloss Rheinfels

Rheinfels Castle is a castle ruin located above the left (west) bank of the Rhine in Sankt Goar, Germany. It was started in 1245 by Count Diether V of Katzenelnbogen. After expansions, it was the largest fortress in the Middle Rhein Valley between Koblenz and Mainz. It was slighted by French Revolutionary Army troops in 1797. It is the largest castle overlooking the Rhine, and historically covered five times its current area.
While much of the castle is a ruin, some of the outer buildings are now a luxury hotel, "wellness" centre and restaurant. There is also a museum within some of the better preserved structures.

ST. GOAR

ST. GOARSHAUSEN

ST. GOARSHAUSEN - Loreley

The Loreley is a rock in the Rhine near St. Goarshausen, which soars some 120 meters above the water line. It marks the narrowest part of the river between Switzerland and the North Sea.
The name comes from the old German words "lureln" (Rhine dialect for "murmuring") and "ley" (rock). The translation of the name would therefore be: "murmur rock" or "murmuring rock". The heavy currents, and a small waterfall in the area (still visible in the early 19th century) created a murmuring sound, and this combined with the special echo the rock produces which acted as a sort of amplifier, then gave name to the rock itself.
The rock is associated with several legendary tales originating in German folklore. It appears in many forms, but is best known through a poem by Heinrich Heine that begins "Ich weiss nicht was soll es bedeuten" ("I don't know what to make of it"). In the most common form of the story, the Loreley is a maiden who threw herself into the Rhine in despair over a faithless lover, and became a nixe whose voice lured fishermen to destruction.

ST. GOARSHAUSEN

STOLPEN

STOLPEN - Burg Stolpen in Sachsen

Stolpen Castle is built on top of a rock in the centre of the town and has been a dominant feature in the history of Saxony since 1100, with the current castle constructed from around 1218. It has been used as a residence for the Bishops of Meissen, and for the ruling members of the region. Augustus II the Strong imprisoned his mistress Countess Costel here. Parts of the castle fell into disrepair and were demolished in the 18th century. Napoleonic troops occupied part of it on their retreat from Russia in 1813. Since the 19th century it has been carefully looked after, and today welcomes 140,000 visitors a year to see the museum exhibitions and remains.

STOLPEN

STUTTGART

STUTTGART - Inka - Könige der Anden

The Inca Empire of the 15th and 16th century was the largest indigenous empire ever created on American soil. With Cusco and Machu Picchu in Peru as the centres of power, it stretched almost 5000 km along the Andes of Columbia to Chile. The exhibition in co-operation with Lokschuppen Rosenheim is the first to be fully devoted to this magnificent culture.
The exhibition followed the evolution of the legendary pre-Hispanic culture, from its origins in the mid 11th century, right up to colonial times. The exhibition focused on the imperial phase. Inca Viracocha, Pachacutec Yupanqui and Topa Inca Yupanqui were not only responsible for creating the Inca Empire, but also for building Cusco, Machu Picchu and other world-famous sites.
STUTTGART

STUTTGART

STUTTGART - Mercedes-Benz Arena - VFB Stuttgart

The Mercedes-Benz Arena is a stadium located in Stuttgart, Baden-Württemberg, Germany and home to German Bundesliga club VfB Stuttgart.
Before 1993 it was called Neckarstadion, named after the nearby river Neckar and between 1993 and July 2008 it was called Gottlieb-Daimler-Stadion. From the 2008-09 season, the stadium was renamed the Mercedes-Benz Arena, starting with a pre-season friendly against Arsenal on 30 July 2008.
STUTTGART

ÜDERSEE

ÜDERSEE - NaturFreundehaus Üdersee

The location of the Naturfreundehaus provides an ideal starting point for the development of interesting destinations in the Schorfheide.
In addition to the idyllic Üdersee with bathing facilities and boat rentals, the Naturfreundehaus provides a wide range of game, experience and active recreation.
In the family recreation center both individual families and groups of all kinds welcome.

ÜDERSEE

WALDECK

WALDECK - Ederesee - Talsperre

The Edersee Dam is a hydroelectric dam spanning the Eder river in northern Hesse, Germany. Constructed between 1908 and 1914, it lies near the small town of Waldeck at the northern edge of the Kellerwald. Breached by Allied bombs during World War II, it was rebuilt during the war, and today generates hydroelectric power and regulates water levels for shipping on the Weser river.
At low water in late summers of dry years the remnants of three villages (Asel, Bringhausen, and Berich) and a bridge across the original river bed submerged when the lake was filled in 1914 can be seen. Descendants of those buried there go to visit the graves of their ancestors.
WALDECK

WALDECK

WALDECK - Schloss Waldeck - Edersee

Waldeck Castle is a castle, located on a wooded rocky hill just west of the Hessian place Waldeck. The castle is situated in the northern part of the Kellerwald-Edersee National Park on the northern shore of the Edersee. The castle is accessible from the town by a road.
In the year 1120 the Waldeck castle was first mentioned in a charter. The castle was owned by the house Schwalenberg and from 1180 took a branch of this family name Waldeck in her family. In later centuries the castle was expanded several times and in 1655 the castle was the residence of the Counts of Waldeck, who left hereafter to the Arolsen Castle in Bad Arolsen. The building was then given multiple destinations. First it was a fortress with a lock seat commander, then it became a barracks and from 1734 to 1868 was a workhouse and women prison.
Since 1920 the castle is owned by the local authorities. Nowadays, the castle used as a hotel and museum.
WALDECK

WALDHEIM

WALDHEIM - Burg Kriebstein

Kriebstein Castle - Burg Kriebstein  is a castle in Kriebstein near the town of Waldheim in the German state of Saxony.
The castle rises above steep crags over the River Zschopau. Within the topographical grouping of hill castles it is classified as a spur castle because it lies on the extreme end of a hill spur surrounded on three sides by the Zschopau that flows around the spur in a large bow.
The rock on which the castle stands is separated from rising ground behind it by a man-made section of ditch, the so-called Halsgraben. Typologically the Kriebstein is a combination of a tower castle and a ringwork castle with an oval ground plan. Dominating the whole site is the monumentalkeep perched atop the highest crag. With its sides measuring 22 x 12 metres, the tower, including its weather vane, reaches a height of 45 metres. Its late medieval oriel turrets and the flèche give the castle a unique and thus unmistakable silhouette.
WALDHEIM

WALDHEIM

WALDHEIM - Talsperre Kriebstein

Before the Kriebstein Dam was built, the River nearer the Czech border was quite rough and dangerous for raftsmen travelling along the river. They were more than happy to arrive safely at Kriebstein Castle, as they knew from here on, the River was much calmer.
These days, the River has been tamed and fills the Kriebstein reservoir at Kriebstein.
The Kriebstein Green Belt Recreation Area is settled around the Kriebstein reservoir which is 9 kilometres long and covers an area of about 132 hectars. It stretches from the Kriebstein Dam at Kriebstein where the water of the river Zschopau is backed up to Lauenhain-Ringethal. The biggest width of the reservoir is 300 metres.The volume of the backed up water is 11,3 billion cubic metres.
The Kriebstein reservoir is a fantastic area for campers, canoeists and for those who like going on boat tours. But it's also an appropriate area for people who like walking and watching wildlife.
The central place of that recreation area is Kriebstein with the Kriebstein Dam and the Kriebstein Castle.
WALDHEIM

WANGEROOGE

WANGEROOGE - Alter Leuchtturm Erbaut 1856

Wangerooge is one of the East Frisian Islands. It is the easternmost and smallest of the inhabited islands in this group (according to some other measurements, Baltrum is the smallest) and the only one that belonged to the historical district of Oldenburg between 1815 and 1947, whereas Borkum, Juist, Norderney, Baltrum, Langeoog and Spiekeroog always belonged to the county of Ostfriesland. As of the census of 2004, the island has 1,055 inhabitants. Especially in summer the island accommodates more than 7,000 visitors a day.
The island is attractive to tourists due to the beaches, various recreation facilities and its relaxed atmosphere.
As for historical sites and other places of interest, the island has one active lighthouse, one old lighthouse, and the Western Tower. The Old Lighthouse of Wangerooge also houses the island museum, where the history of Wangerooge is presented.Since the whole island used to be shifting constantly eastwards until sea defenses were built a century ago, old buildings were gradually lost to the sea. The Western Tower was built in 1597 and was originally in the east of the island.

WANGEROOGE

WANGEROOGE

WANGEROOGE - Old West Tower - Westturm Wangerooge

The Western Tower is a landmark of Wangerooge, which can be seen for miles around, has stood at a height of 56 m up on the west end of the island since 1933. It is home to one of the most original youth hostels in Germany. In its basic shape, it is a replica of the old Wangerooge west tower dating from the period around 1600. The old west tower with its walls that are 2.20 m thick in places withstood all the storm tides and for over 300 years up until 1914 it was a striking maritime landmark for ships at sea. Its end came at Christmas in 1914 when it was blown up so that it could not help enemy ships to get their bearings. The old west tower was not built on the site of the present-day verson. Its foundations can still be seen at low tide on a platform opposite Hammer Landschulheim in the north-west corner of the island.

WANGEROOGE

WAREN

WAREN - Die Müritz

The  Müritz is a lake in Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, northern Germany. Its area is 117 km², which makes it the second largest lake of Germany (after Lake Constance). Its maximum depth is 31 metres. It is fed and drained by the river Elde. Part of the Müritz and adjacent forests and wetlands are protected by the Müritz National Park. The Müritz district was named after the lake. The biggest cities bordering the lake are Waren (Müritz) and Röbel, both major centers of tourism in the Mecklenburg Lake District.

WAREN

WAREN

WAREN - Waren (Müritz)

Waren (Müritz) is a town in Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, Germany, capital of the Müritz district (Kreis). It is situated on the northern end of Lake Müritz, approximately 40 km west of Neubrandenburg.
The place is first mentioned by the Greek geographer Claudius Ptolemy 150 A.D. as Virunum. Therefore it is one of the first documented settlements in the area of Mecklenburg-Vorpommern. The name probably comes from the slavic word for "place of crows or ravens". Another possibility is that it refers to the Germanic tribe of the Warini who settled in this area.
The medieval town was founded in 1260 by settlers from Westphalia on a trading route from Wismar to Burg Stargard next to a castle and a Slavic village. The origins of Waren were around Saint George' church which was first mentioned in 1273. In 1292 Waren was described as a civitas and got town privileges. From 1331 on it was called an oppidum. From 1347 to 1425 it was the residence of a branch line of the princes of Werle who were part of the Obodrites family.

WAREN

WILLINGEN

WILLINGEN - Der Wild- und Freizeitpark Willingen

Around 82 animal species and a total of 380 animals live in the Wildlife and Leisure Park at the "Ettelsberg” mountain including exotic species such as Barbary apes, parrots as well as brown bears. There is so much to discover in the game reserve, fairy tale woods, dino land, hunting museum and nature trail. Daily birds of prey shows, presented by our professional falconer, offer a special attraction.
WILLINGEN

WILLINGEN

WILLINGEN - Wild - und Freizeitpark Willingen

In the timber forest of the park, which is situated in a nature reserve, you will find a wildlife enclosure with hoofed game (fallow, red and sika deer), exotic animals (Barbary Macaques, parrots) and predators (brown bears, wildcats).
The petting zoo offers close contact with the animals, whilst a walk along the nature trail is accompanied by many instruction boards offering interesting information on the great variety of animals and plants that can be found in our native woods.The hunting museum with its underwater world offers an exciting insight into indigenous marine life shown in two large aquariums. Dinoland, the wonderful world of fairy tales and goblins, leisure equipment and new and exciting event programmes offered each year are just a few of the many thrills that await you at Wild- und Freizeitpark Willingen am Ettelsberg!
WILLINGEN

WITTENBERG

WITTENBERG - Lutherstadt Wittenberg - Schlosskirche - Thesentür

All Saints' Church, commonly referred to as Schlosskirche to distinguish it from the Town Church of St. Mary – and sometimes known as the Reformation Memorial Church – is a Lutheran church in Wittenberg, Germany. It is the site where, according to university custom, the Ninety-Five Theses were posted by Martin Luther on 31 October 1517, the act that has been called the start of the Protestant Reformation.
In 1858, at the order of Frederick William IV of Prussia, commemorative bronze doors were mounted where the original wooden ones had been located. On the doors the 95 Theses are inscribed in their original Latin form.
Above the doors is a painting that portrays Luther on the left with a German Bible, and Philipp Melanchthon on the right, with the Augsburg Confession, the main confession of faith in the Lutheran Church which was formed by Luther and Melanchthon.
WITTENBERG

WUPPERTAL

WUPPERTAL - Zoo Wuppertal

Over 5.000 animals of approximately 500 different kinds from all continents live in the Wuppertaler zoo.
The animal ranges, houses and outdoor installations are incorporated into the landscape which is shaped by old tree existence and give to the zoo its own note. In the modern animal residendes visitors can find apes, bears, elephants and reptiles.
The Zoo Wuppertal possesses also a music shell, which is frequently used in the summer months for garden concerts.

WUPPERTAL